Howler Monkeys And The Sweet Sweet Love

Well, it’s been a few weeks since I’ve written anything, so I figure a quick update is in order.

I’ve spent the last week organizing my trip to Peru and Hawaii.  The entire process has provided a lot of entertainment.  I’m completely stoked for my trip.  At the moment, it looks like I’m going to be leaving on the 11th of November, and returning December 6th or 7th.  I can’t wait.  It’s going to cost a lot of money, but what the hell, you only live once, right? 

The only thing that sucks, is that Robert likely won’t be able to go.  I was really hoping he could, because we’d end up celebrating his 30th at the ruins of Machu Picchu.  Seeing as he’s been one of my best friends since grade 6, it was, in my mind, a given that we’d celebrate this milestone together.  I really wish he could be there, and I’m trying to figure out a way for him to go.  Regardless, as much as it sucks that he won’t be there, I have to go on this trip.  I can’t explain why exactly, but I have to go. 

Other than that, I’ve been preparing (and by preparing, I mean lazing about) for the coming onslaught of the new semester.  New students, more crazy hours.   It’s going to be a very crazy semester.  Another contract with PHAC (hopefully), and continued contracts with other clients.  Good stuff.  But very little sleep likely.  Makes the Peru trip all the more required and appreciated. 

What else?  Well, I was contacted by a long lost friend today.  What a great boost.  I lost contact with Phil and Sue a few years ago when they moved, and Sue just recently found this blog.  So amazing to hear from her.  I met Phil in my first year of university, and Sue a few years later.  I can’t wait to visit them now.  Hopefully, I’ll be able to see them before I head off to Peru.  I am planning a trip to Ottawa and Montreal before I leave, so it should be possible.  They are both so awesome, and I love spending time with them.  Phil and I have talked many hours about movies, music and so much more.  Much of my second year of school involved him in some way.  And Sue is one of those people that I could talk with for hours.  I can’t wait to see them again.

I’ve also learned (or been reminded) in the previous weeks of how lucky I am.  I guess this is the sappy part of the entry.  Anywho, in the past few weeks/months I’ve become aware, either by personal disclosures and revelations or via the grapevine, that there are so many friends out there that are going through some major life changing events.  Some of them are more severe than others, in terms of the threat to health and such, but all are essentially the same.  So many people that I know are all questioning their lives.  Why are they where they are?  How did they get there?  What’s the point? Are they doing the right thing?  etc.  I try to do as much as I can, in terms of being a shoulder, or a listener, or whatever.  But it’s one of those things that is very slippery.  I sometimes wonder if I’m doing enough, or possibly too much?  And then of course, I wonder why I’m not in the same boat?  Am I just wandering around in some sort of ignorant bliss?  And if so, should I try to get out of it, or enjoy the bliss?  Honestly, the more I think about it (specifically the questions that they are asking of themselves) the more I am convinced that I am in a fantastic place in my life.  I have many good friends, I’m doing what I love to do, I have the freedom to do what I want, and I’m healthier than I’ve ever been.  This is what makes me lucky.  That, or completely freaking oblivious.  Either way, I like it.

I guess that is all from me for now.  It’s late, I guess, so I should probably go to bed.  That, or stay up playing Text Twist on yahoo.  I’m so cool sometimes, it hurts.  HA! 

Oh, before I go, I’d like to say there are some very bizarre sounds coming from the forest/conservation area outside my window.  I hear these sounds most every night when I crawl into bed (where I now lay typing on my keyboard and loving wireless internet) and often wonder what the hell is making the noise.  Most nights I hear neighbourhood cats and such either making the sweet sweet love (and by the way, cats don’t sound very happy/friendly when they make the sweet sweet love), or fighting for territory (which interestingly enough sounds very similar to cats making the sweet sweet love).  But tonight, it seriously sounds like a group of howler monkeys or something of the sort.  Very bizarre. 

Leave a Reply

