Wanderlusting

Have I mentioned that I love to travel?  If not, be it known from this point forward that I love to travel.  Love it.  LOVE.  IT.  And yes, I know I have just returned from an adventure with Rick in Calgary, so it may seem odd that I’m already thinking about further travel, but there you have it; I have a pretty one track mind at times.

To prove my love of travel, I have decided to pose myself a challenge.  Well, technically I decided to pose it to myself at the start of the year, but I have not reported on it as yet.  At least, I don’t recall reporting on it.  I forget things you know.  But I digress…

The challenge: to travel once a month for an entire year.  And simply picking up and biking somewhere doesn’t count.  Nor does jumping in the car, unless said car ride is for a road trip.  Ultimately, the only travel that I have decided really counts is that which requires one or more plane rides.  Thus, allowed trips include local, domestic, and international travel that involves me travelling first to Pearson International Airport, for example.

Given that it is April/almost May, you might wonder how I’m doing.  If you’ve been following the blog you’ll probably know.  Regardless, I present to you the first four months of my year long travel challenge:

What am I doing for the rest of the year?  I’m glad you asked.
  • May – Ottawa for Marathon weekend!  This is clearly not going to be a restful weekend, but it has so much potential for awesomeness that I’m actually excited (if not throw-uppy) about it.
  • June – Nova Scotia, P.E.I., and New Brunswick, or Amsterdam.  If my abstract is accepted to the Annual Meeting of the Statistical Society of Canada, then I will be hitting up Nova Scotia and surrounding areas.  If not, then Amsterdam.  w00t!
  • July – Las Vegas.  This particular adventure is still up in the air at the moment.  The idea is that I will travel with my friends Manon and Mark at the end of July, and then stay there for the first few days of August.  I’m not sure if this is considered cheating or not.  That is, do I have to find something else to do in August to satisfy the 1 trip per month challenge?   Thoughts?
  • August – Las Vegas – as per above.
  • September – Calgary.  Yes, I want to go back to Calgary.  But this is mainly so that I can get in some more mountain climbing adventures with Rick.  And perhaps go Zorbing, zip-lining, and gliding.
  • October – Victoria/Vancouver.  I’m heading here primarily because I’ve been invited to speak at a conference in Victoria.  Then I’m going to stop off in Vancouver so that I might visit Dr. Beth.  You remember her?  She’s the huge slice of awesome that is trying to raise money for Cystic Fibrosis Canada.  Go here to help her raise money.  Do it.  You’ll feel good from the inside out.
  • November – ???.  I have nothing in mind yet for November.  Any recommendations?
  • December – My brother and I are setting out on our second European adventure together.  This will be my 4th time in Europe.  The goal is to hit up Poland, Slovakia, Hungary, Turkey, and Bulgaria.
Of course, even though the list of places where I plan to fly might change, the goal remains.  12 trips in 12 months.  w00t!  And since this is such an awesome goal, I think I should add it to my Not-So-Bucket-List list.

Related Articles

3 thoughts on “Wanderlusting

  1. As it so happens, my sister, my niece, my new niece-or-nephew, and I will be driving down the west coast during the first week of August. Perhaps you could hop on a plane in LV and join us in Portland or San Fran or LA or some such awesome place that we might end up in order to satisfy your travel-in-August needs? I will tell you that the Portland leg of our journey revolves mainly around a visit to Voodoo Donuts.

    And thanks for the plug of my fundraiser. Did I mention lately how much you rock?

    1. You had me at Voodoo donuts. I’m going to look into that. San Fran would be sweet as it’s on my list. Or it is supposed to be.

      No problem. I’m going to keep plugging it as much as I can. That reads dirty. Ha!

Leave a Reply

