An Evening With Awesome Times Two

An Evening With Jill Barber - October 28th

I’m stoked. Super. Stoked.

Why? you wonder. Simple. I have just finished purchasing tickets for two upcoming concerts and I’m extremely excited about both of them.

The first concert is for one Jill Barber (Dublin Street United Church, Guelph, October 28th at 8pm). If you don’t know who she is, I highly recommend you listen to the tunes that I have embedded below via the all-powerful and wonderous YouTube.

Jill Barber has an incredibly rich voice that reminds me of old-time-y times. I first heard her music only about a year ago, and I instantly loved it. In fact, the song that instantly sold me on her talent was “Oh Heart”, from the album of the same name. Being the nerdly fellow that I am, I jumped on the interwebs and searched about. From there, I found “Chances”, and “Oh My My”, both off of her Chances album. Amazing. I’ve since purchased these two albums, and Mischievous Moon (which are all available on iTunes).

On top of her most excellent vocal talent, I have to say that she’s pretty stellar. She is one of the few artists that I follow on the Twitter that actually responds to messages that I may send her way. Because of this, I’m very much looking forward to what I assume will be a fun, intimate, and entertaining night of great music. W00t!

And that other concert ticket? Ya, that one is for Tori Amos. You might remember her from my Not-So-Bucket-List list (item #35), and a discography that spans almost 20 years (that I’ve copied from the all-knowing Wikipedia below).

An Evening With Tori Amos - December 8th
For those curious, she’s playing in Toronto on December 8th at Massey Hall, which just so happens to be my favourite concert location. It’s large enough to seat a lot of people, but also small enough that it still maintains an intimate feeling. I’ve never seen Tori Amos in concert, but I’ve heard from those that have seen her that she is amazing. I’m very much looking forward to this, especially since seeing her in concert has been on my list of things to do for a very long time. Of course, I have to wait until December 8th for this particular item to be crossed off my list, but having bought the ticket, I am one step closer.

If you are interested in either concert, just check out their main webpages. As of posting this, tickets for both concerts were still available.


Jill Barber


Tori Amos

3 thoughts on “An Evening With Awesome Times Two”

Leave a Reply

