Happy 10000 To Me!

Yesterday was a rather monumental day for me. Okay, maybe not as monumental as finishing my PhD, starting my position as Ass. Prof., or finishing my first marathon, but still awesome in its own way.

And why was yesterday monumental? Well, it just so happens that yesterday was the day I posted my 10000th tweet. Crazy.

I remember when I first signed up for Twitter; it was way back in the old-time-y days of January 24, 2008. At the time, I signed up simply to be able to communicate in another way with several friends that lived across the country. Little did I know that Twitter was going to become a fixture in my life. I also hadn’t imagined that I’d use it in the way that I do. I mean, most of the time it’s just for keeping up to date with what is going on in the world, or my community. I also use it to organize social activities. But, it also comes in handy as a research tool. The amount of information out there is staggering. And Twitter is a great way to source it.

So what does one tweet about when they have 10000+ tweets? I wondered the same thing. And amazingly there is an application that will summarize all that I’ve said in a nice little word cloud. So for your viewing pleasure, and brought to you by the awesome people at tweetcloud.icodeforlove.com, I present to you a word cloud of the 50 most popular words that I’ve tweeted between August 2008 (as far back as the program would allow) and today. You are welcome :)

Get your own word cloud at http://tweetcloud.icodeforlove.com/

I love that awesome, w00t, thanks, chocolate and love are the dominant words. I also love that Guelph, coffee, scotch, beer, bacon, and elliot made the list as well. Clearly I’m consistent if nothing else.

Anyway, given that I pay attention to numbers, I made a point of watching my tweet count as it got closer and closer to the 10000 tweet mark. Once I got close, I had to start thinking about what my 10000th tweet would be. I mean, should I search for some profound wisdom buried deep within me to share in the Twitterverse? Should I simply leave it a joke, or a non-interesting tweet; as if 10000 tweets really meant nothing? And then it dawned on me. I had the perfect tweet in mind for number 10000.

What did I post? you ask. Exactly the following:

Here’s to another 10000!


7 thoughts on “Happy 10000 To Me!

  1. Kudos, Dr. Dan! You are clearly far more Twitter-prolific than I. I joined in January 2008 and I’m only on tweet #9434! Also, I’m generating my tweet cloud as we speak, er, type.

Leave a Reply

