Scotchy Scotchy Scotch

Say hello to my (new) little friends :)
I love scotch. Scotchy scotchy scotch

As I was sitting here sipping away on some very tasty 10 year old Ardbeg Islay single malt scotch, a thought struck me. Specifically, I realized that in my list of goals for 2012 (see here, herehere, and here for some examples), none involved scotch. How, for the love of all things tasty, did I forget scotch?

Anyway, given that I’ve been exploring scotch for some time but still feel as if I don’t have a satisfactory grasp on all of its amazing qualities, I’ve decided that another goal for 2012 is to drink more scotch. Now don’t get me wrong, I don’t mean that I should drink bucket loads of scotch. I simply mean that I should sample more types of scotch. And perhaps take notes. And share them with you, my fine readers.

So, take this as an official proclamation: I hereby vow to buy a new bottle of scotch each and every month in the year 2012. Each bottle must be new to me. That is, it cannot already exist in my collection (which currently includes Lagavulin 16-year-old, Aberlour A’bunadh, Glenrothes Robur Reserve, Glenmorangie 10-year-old, and the aforementioned Ardbeg). However, I do allow that I may buy from the same distillery, so long as the scotch is of a different age. For example, I could buy a 10- and 18-year-old scotch from the same distillery if the opportunity presented itself. Furthermore, I will have at least 2 scotch tastings throughout the year, documented on this blog so that I might pass on whatever knowledge I gain during said tastings.

I have added these goals to my Not-So-Bucket-List so as to make them official. They are now items #251 and #252. That’s how serious I take my scotch education. Scotchucation?

And with that, I’m out for the year. See all y’all in the future. I leave you with this video from Anchorman.



7 thoughts on “Scotchy Scotchy Scotch”

Leave a Reply

