Expanding My Stats-dom

The building is old, but definitely full of charm.

Almost a year ago – March 10, 2011 to be exact – I wrote about my new office in the Alexander building at the University of Guelph (see here). Since then, I have spent many hours in said office working on papers, thinking mathematical and statistical thoughts, writing code, drafting reports, building presentations, writing manuscripts, conversing with students, created course related materials, marking papers, and various other academically related pursuits.

Note: those other pursuits may or may not have included such high-brow activities as eating, drinking coffee, snacking, drinking tea, enjoying chocolate, stretching, reading, trying not to fall asleep while reading, and falling asleep while reading, to name a few.

The office was and continues to be great (despite a few issues with the heat). It’s cozy. It gives me a place to step away from the buzz of the university to focus. It’s large enough to adequately and comfortably meet and tutor students. And, it is the cornerstone of the new Population Level Risk Assessment Research Centre┬áthat I’m trying to create/head. Sounds fancy, no? Additionally, the office includes a pod of 4 other offices and a lab that I am beginning to populate with smarty-pants students (from the departments of Integrative Biology, and Mathematics & Statistics, and from the School of Computer Science) who will do research related to population level risk assessment. I can’t wait to see what trouble we get ourselves into – academically speaking of course.

But, despite how good the office is, it is in a different building from the School of Computer Science. The same School that I am a part of. What this means is that I rarely ever see my colleagues except at meetings or in a more structured environment. I don’t have the ability to just stroll down the hall to say hi to any of my colleagues or the administrative assistants (who are all fantastic), nor can I pop in to see the Director if I have a brilliant idea (ok – stop laughing – I do have them from time to time). Collecting mail is also a chore as my mailbox is housed within the School of Computer Science. As such, when an office in the Reynolds building opened up – the Reynolds building being the place where the School of Computer Science can be found – I jumped at the opportunity to move.

Hmm, perhaps I should clarify. You see, it’s not so much a move as it is an expansion. I’m not giving up my office in the Alexander building; that is going to be my office for taking care of administration associated with the Population Level Risk Assessment Research Centre, and it will be where I spend most of my time with students; in-course, research assistants, and graduate. But I’m also going to have my office in Reynolds. That is where I will do a lot of my research, course prep, programming, and reading. It will also allow me to better integrate myself into the School of Computer Science, and get to know my colleagues that much better. And, it will probably be where I do my office yoga as there is a lot more room to get my bend on.

Seriously – how spoiled am I that I get not just one, but two shiny offices? I’m going to pretend that the second office is a gift for my 1 year job-iversary. And to top it all off, my gift comes with an awesomely awesome arched window. So to recap: two offices, one with a pod of four other offices and a lab, the other with an arched window.

As I wrote yesterday, I am one lucky S.O.B.



Related articles

11 thoughts on “Expanding My Stats-dom”

  1. I am *so* jealous! My office is windowless and, if the temperature is any indication, located in the Arctic in the dead of winter. I am also not located where my coworkers are, though I might be moving soon (*fingers crossed*). The move will be good in terms of proximity to coworkers and above absolute zero temperatures, but it will be too a cubicle instead of an office, which will really cramp my doing-yoga-on-teleconferences style.

    1. Hmmm, not being able to do yoga vs. being able to work with colleagues who are within ‘real person interaction’ working proximity – that is a tough call. Does the cubicle include some sort of portal to the outside world? Because that might be enough to tip the scales. That, or some work-friendly temperatures. Regardless, I’m a lucky S.O.B. because I get to play in 2 different offices. I have no idea how I managed to get such an awesome deal, but I’m not going to argue it.

      1. If my cubicle ends up being where I think it will be, I will be able to spy some windows off in the distance. However, the building does have a gym that anyone who works in the building can access FOR FREE. Also, it’s on the 5th floor, but floors are double height, so I’d get to climb up and down 10 flights of stairs every work day! (I may be the only person who thinks that’s a good thing, but I’m excited!)

        1. Free gym? That’s sweet. Sadly I’d have to pay for the gym if I were to use the one on campus. Thankfully however, I opt to do my workouts at home, outside, or at the yoga studio. This of course might explain why my upper body strength is that of a 12 year old boy.

Leave a Reply

