Because Ice Climbing Isn’t Adventurous Enough

image from http://www.discoverlakelouise.com/things-to-do-in-banff/banff-winter-activities

Remember back in the old-time-y days of 2011 when Rick and I had made the spontaneous decision to go ice-climbing? Well, Rick discovered a website today that listed a lot of the different activities that are available both summer and winter in the lovely province of Alberta.

While waiting for my parents, younger brother, and two of my five nieces to drop by today, I opted to peruse said website. Of course, always being on the lookout for new things to do, this gave me ideas for future adventuring with my fellow shenaniganner Rick.

Because Rick is who he is (read awesome), I immediately constructed an email to send to him that outlined the following activities (in no particular order) because I knew he’d likely want to take part in any and all of them as well.

  • go dog sledding,
  • go snowshoeing,
  • go cross country skiing,
  • go ice walking,
  • go on a sleigh ride,
  • go wildlife viewing,
  • go to the hot springs,
  • go to a spa,
  • stay at a lodge/cabin, and/or
  • go tobogganing.
image from http://lakelouise.com/tours/winter-activity-tours/dogsledding

One of these items (I’m looking at you dog sledding) – sounding rather crazy and awesome – has become item #256 on my Not-So-Bucket-List list.

Anyway, after drafting the email something dawned on me. That is, I remembered a conversation that Rick and I had last year about a certain crazy adventure that we thought was absolutely necessary to take part in. I decided to do some sleuthing. Strangely I wasn’t able to locate said crazy adventure on the website Rick had sent to me. So I sleuthed further (read, I asked the all-powerful and all-knowing Google). And as it has done many countless times before, the all-powerful, all-knowing Google came through.

I finished my email and sent it off to Rick, noting to him that this particular sleuthed-out adventure could be scratched off of our lists if we thought we might fit even more adventure into an already adventure-packed weekend.

His reply, and I quote:

“yes yes yes yes yes yes yes…”

And this dear readers, is why I love Rick, and why Rick is a giant bag of 100% pure grade-A Awesome. So after getting his response, and following a few other emails back and forth, I called up the Calgary Olympic Park (COP) and booked the adventure to follow our ice-climbing adventure. And both are going to occur in the same weekend in February. I’m so freaking stoked!

“But what, pray tell, is this damn adventure that you’re yammering on about?” you ask. In a word – Bobsledding – which is item #255 on my Not-So-Bucket-List list.

image from http://www.thecanadianencyclopedia.com/index.cfm?PgNm=TCE&Params=J1ARTA0000848

That’s right folks, we are going to head to the COP on February 26th to load our pretty little selves into an official olympic bobsled (with a trained professional of course), and hurtle ourselves down a mountain at speeds approaching 120km/h and forces approaching 5Gs. The ride is going to last all of 60 seconds, but it’s going to be full of so much awesome, I can’t even imagine how I’m going to not go insane with adrenaline and glee.

Rick, thanks for jumping on this without hesitation. You truly are a giant bag of 100% pure grade-A Awesome.


18 thoughts on “Because Ice Climbing Isn’t Adventurous Enough

Leave a Reply

