Happy Trip-iversary

Coffee on the lanai, listening to the waves. Best way to spend a morning.

It’s hard to believe, but over 39 thousand kilometres and 1 year ago today, Rick and I made our way to Hawaii to begin what would be one of the most amazing adventures I’ve ever been on.

Part of the craziness of the adventure was travelling with Rick. You see, up until that point we’d never travelled together. In fact, the closest we’d come to having spent a significant amount of time together was when I’d travelled to Calgary with Manon, Mark, and Nadia for my friend Karen’s wedding.

Prior to hiking up Mauna Kea. T'is a little chilly.

So you’ll understand that before the trip started I was a bit nervous. Travelling with people is very different from hanging out with them. I mean, up until that point I knew Rick was awesome. But spending 16 days together? Would I drive him insane? Would he drive me insane? We really could have been spending a lot of money to travel to paradise only to find out that we really didn’t want to spend time together, and yet were stuck together for 16 solid days.

Thankfully that wasn’t the case. Not even close. Between mountain climbing, lava fields, skydiving, helicoptering, snorkelling, lava tube exploring, awesome food, missed flights, pineapple photos, several bottles of wine, smashed faces, coffee on the lanai, and so much more, my Hawaiian adventure wouldn’t have been the same without Rick.

Rick's best jump shot. But there were so many to pick from.

The best part of the trip, beyond all of the amazing adventure, was discovering that Rick was just as adventurous, and perhaps ridiculous as me. He was also easy-going, open to sudden changes in itinerary, and completely ready to try pretty much anything. And when I needed it, he was also the voice of reason. Who knows what my face would look like today if he hadn’t insisted that I go to the hospital to get stitches, instead of using crazy glue like I had originally suggested.

After our trip, I wrote Rick to tell him how hard it was to return to reality after such an epic vacation. Part of that was due to my ever-present wanderlust. Part of that was clearly associated with missing Hawaii. But most of all, it was because I actually missed Rick.

Because the most important thing that I gained from that vacation; way more important than experiences and adventure; way more important than a much-needed break from my day-to-day life; was a much deeper friendship with Rick. And as I’ve written before, Rick truly is 100% Grade-A Awesome. I’m more than lucky to have someone like him in my life.

Drinking wine on the beach. As is necessary when in Hawaii.

Since that time we’ve been on many adventures together – mountain climbing, hiking, caving, screeing, etc. And we have more planned – ice climbing and bobsledding being the next on our always growing list of things to do. But best of all; we have a list of future adventures and shananiganning that is a mile long and constantly growing. Whether or not we get through that list doesn’t matter. The important thing is that I know he’ll be up for pretty much anything. And I also know that whatever we do, our adventures will be filled with much laughter, much joy, and much awesomeness.

So Happy Trip-iversary my friend. Thank you for all of the grand adventures. And here’s looking forward to our next adventure. I know whatever the future brings it’s going to be awesome. It can’t be anything but when it involves someone as ugly as you. ZING1!


1 FYI: For those not in the know, Rick is not actually ugly. Quite the opposite. But in order to keep his ego in check, I have to remind him that he is, in fact, uggo.


13 thoughts on “Happy Trip-iversary

  1. Sigh….This is the first year in 9 years I’m not going to Hawaii. I have to say that sky diving with you guys last year was one of the best things I’ve ever done!

  2. I have to say I actually laughed out loud at your footnote that I need my ego in check and need to be reminded that I’m an uggo. True story, lol. But oh my, there’s so much sentiment in this post that I almost projectile vomited. Like, all over my laptop, which probably would have ruined it, and then I’d blame you for inducing such a reaction. That’s my way of saying that I thank you for such a great friendship as well. I can’t believe it’s been a year, but there are many more adventures in store! And irregardless whether or not I took you to the hospital that day, you would be just as ugly as you are today. :) That’s what friends do- they tell you how it is.

    1. Yes, as I wrote the post I realized it had too much sentiment and not enough ZING. Hence the reason I ended it on the note that it did. Also, I don’t think I really need to keep your ego in check – you’re actually pretty humble and suchlike. If you had an ego, I’d probably punch you more than ZING you. Actually, I’d probably punch you and then ZING you.

      In other news, I’m so happy that I almost made you spew. I think that would mean that I would have somehow won whatever game it is we are playing.

      Finally, keep telling it like it is Chin.

Leave a Reply

