Fuzzball – One Year Later

Happy 1st anniversary Elliot.

How time flies.

Can you believe it was 1 year ago today that the wee fuzzball, also known as Elliot, came to live with me? And since that day, I can honestly say that my life has been different.

For those of you not in the know, Elliot came to live with me when my friend Jamie was moving. It was a very sad day for Jamie and for Elliot – who spent the night yowling for his dad. Eventually though, Elliot adopted me and things haven’t been the same since.

How has my life changed? Well, first and foremost I know that whenever I come home I’ll be greeted by a fuzzy face who is excessively happy to see me1. It’s not that I require a fuzzy face to greet me, per se, but it’s still very nice. The greeting isn’t short-lived either. That is, he doesn’t just run to the door because he knows he is going to get a belly rub and some treats. He follows me around. He’s like a shadow, only furrier and purrier. If I go upstairs, he goes upstairs. If I jump in the shower, he patiently waits for me to finish. If I open a cupboard, he’s right there checking out whatever I’m checking out.

Trying to work. Elliot has other ideas.

One of the best things about Elliot is that he loves to snuggle. This is pretty much all of the time. During breakfast he’ll curl up on my lap. In the eve, he lies on my belly and chest. At night, he jumps into bed – either under the covers, lying by my head, or nuzzled up near my arm (but usually only if I’m using my arm as a prop for my pillow)2. And, if I’m laying my head on my pillow which is supported by my arm, then Elliot will no doubt rest his head on my arm as well3.

What does all of this mean? Well, apart from being too cute to handle, I assume that this means that he is content and happy, and either considers me a fellow cat, or himself a fellow human.

I think, however, that the most important contribution Elliot makes to my life is that he reminds me – either by forcing himself between me and my computer, or demanding to be snuggled – that there are other things for me to do than just work. Don’t get me wrong, I love my work (otherwise I wouldn’t be doing it), but there is a time every night when I need the reminder to step away from the interwebs and the statistics and the equations and suchlike, and just relax.

Elliot is that ever-present, ever-purring, ever-cuddling reminder.

As I write this, Elliot is curled up on a blanket behind me. I can hear him purring softly, and I assume that means he’s happy – which is more than enough for me.


1 Elliot isn’t a typical cat; he’s uber affectionate – demanding that I snuggle with him on a frequent basis.

2 He’s not so much into spooning.

3¬†And since he’s a bit of a wee fuzzball based furnace, this is nothing but positive news for someone who is generally cold all of the time.



6 thoughts on “Fuzzball – One Year Later

Leave a Reply

