84.4 Is Going To Be Awesome

Shiny. The 2011 Goodlife Marathon medal.

So today it is official. Today marked the day that I officially registered to run in the Toronto Goodlife Marathon, which is scheduled to start Sunday May 6th at 7:30am.

Holy crapshite! That’s just over 60 days away. Yikes!

This will be my first marathon of the year. You may recall that one of my goals is to run 3 marathons in a single year (item #227 on my Not-So-Bucket-List list). This year Рassuming I avoid injury and/or death Рis going to be that year. As such, I plan on running a second marathon in Ottawa, and a third marathon in either Toronto or Chicago. Or possibly Calgary. Or Vancouver. There really are so many options.

But back to the race at hand – er – I should say races at hand. Because not only did I register for the Toronto Goodlife Marathon which is scheduled – as I mentioned – for May 6, but I also registered for the Ottawa Marathon scheduled for Sunday May 27th, three weeks after the first marathon. Which means I’m on track to also check off item #247 on my Not-So-Bucket-List list – run 2 marathons in 1 month.

Is this insane? Probably.

Am I going to do it? Hells ya.

But don’t worry folks, I’m not the only person with a clear desire to engage in acts of the silly kind. My friend Carolyn is going to be joining me on this mission, and we are going to rock it. Beyond¬†attempting to complete 2 marathons in a month, we’re also going to be striving for personal best times in Toronto. Our goal for the second marathon is not so lofty – it is simply to finish – to prove to ourselves that we can in fact run these distances over a short period of time. Because, if this works out, we’re thinking about trying for the Goofy Run1 in Florida, or even a 50k, or 80k Ultramarathon.

May is going to be epic!


1 The Goofy Run is actually a set of 2 different runs. Specifically, a half marathon on Saturday, followed immediately by a full marathon on Sunday.


20 thoughts on “84.4 Is Going To Be Awesome”

  1. First of all, “crapshite” just became my new favorite word. I will start using it in daily parlance until it blends in well with formal documents and contracts.

    Secondly, consider me jealous. Ever since I saw that medal at the NY Marathon expo, I have wanted it. I’m signed up for something else this year, so I won’t make it, maybe 2013. I am also looking to the Goofy Challenge for next year.

    Good luck with your goals!

    1. Thanks!

      I love the word “crapshite”. I find it particularly useful whenever a meeting has going off the rails. Simply slam a fist down, yell crapshite in a booming voice, then get up and leave. What once was a off-track meeting has become an exit that no one shall ever forget.

  2. I’d be interested in the goofy…… I’ve never been to to Florida. That’s as good an excuse as any to go.

Leave a Reply

