Squee – It’s Almost Nerdmas

Mmmmm, pi.

For those thinking I might have forgotten, don’t worry, I didn’t.

You might be wondering What exactly could Dan have forgotten? Well, it’s highly unlikely – although I guess within the realm of possibility1 – but I could have forgotten the most sacred and holy of all math days in the entire year. That day of course is Pi-Day. The day when nerds of all sorts unite and celebrate that most awesome of numbers – \pi.

Pi-Day officially arrives on Wednesday March 14, but I figured since we are already well into Pi-Eve (which actually started on the evening of the 10th – also known as the International Day of Awesomeness2), that I should probably remind all y’all, just in case you need to go out and do any necessary last-minute shopping.

You know – shopping for all the good little mathy nerds and geeks out there *cough*.

And because I’m extra thoughtful, I thought I’d provide you with a list of the best types of gifts to buy any and all mathy nerds and geeks in your lives. You are welcome.

  • chocolate
  • wine
  • scotch
  • pie

Might I add that this list is in no way biasedOkay, maybe it’s a little biased.

Don’t fret though. If for whatever reason you can’t get out to pick up a gift for that special math nerd/geek in your life – because you are perhaps too busy preparing the Roast Beast for the giant Pi-Day feast, or perhaps because you are finishing up the traditional dessert of chocolate covered pie-in-a-cake, or perhaps because you are putting the last trimmings of Koch Snowflakes on the mantle, or even perhaps because you are in the middle of decanting the special Pi-Day wine into the Pi-Day Klein Bottle – know that hugs are also customary, and most definitely welcome.

Happy Pi-Eve everyone.


To prep you for Pi-Day, I offer you the following links. Enjoy.


1 You know – like it’s plausible that a child might forget Santa coming to visit on Christmas morning. It’s technically possible that a child might forget, but really highly unlikely.

2 Yes, Pi-Eve and the International Day of Awesomeness occur on the same day. Your mind should be blown.

3 Yes, I really am this much of a nerd. I can’t believe you’re still surprised at this.

4 I know! Could this day get any more mathemagical?

You know – the Sierpiński triangle guy.


9 thoughts on “Squee – It’s Almost Nerdmas

  1. I’m always so jealous of UWaterloo this time of year! Despite their elaborate activities, I think we still win due to the sheer deliciousness of local pie producers ‘with the grain’…

    *salivates*

      1. There is no way I can decline this proposition.

        The only negative is that an impossibly high standard will be set for all future meetings.

Leave a Reply

