No More Pencils No More Books.

School's out for summer!

And just like that, classes are finished.

I taught my last class of the semester today. Bittersweet? Perhaps. I mean, as much as I’m excited for the semester to be over, I really did enjoy teaching the two courses this semester. My students were great, and the courses were a lot of fun. Despite all of the long hours, I really can’t complain.

But as I wrote the other day, I can’t help but say that I’m also very happy that the semester is almost finished. It has been a very long, and very busy one, and I’m due for a proper vacation. You know – a proper vacation – where I’m gone for more than a long weekend.  A vacation where I’m not actually working while I’m away. A proper, real, honest, no work involved kind of vacation.

Mmmm, my everything is happy just thinking about a proper, real, honest, no work involved kind of vacation.

Regardless, none of that matters right now because it’s Easter weekend and I’m about to fly to Calgary for a mini-vacation. The plan: enjoy some hiking while breathing in some fresh mountain air1. There’s nothing quite like fresh mountain air to rejuvenate oneself. And I plan to do a lot of rejuvenating while I’m there.

Well, as much as I can in the short time that I’m away.

I guess I’m also going to get to spend some time visiting with Rick, and truth be told I guess that’s better than a kick in the teeth. Ha. Seriously though, I am absolutely stoked to get to hang out with Rick for a few days. For those of you who have been reading my blog posts for a while, you will know that whenever the two of us get together, adventure has a way of finding us.

I think we are adventure-magnets.

Okay, maybe we’re just a bunch of idiots that do a lot of crazy things without considering the consequences.

Whatever the case may be, I know that my mini-vacation is going to be a blast. And it will also be enough to get me through another few busy months before I can take a real vacation in the summer. And that vacation, dear readers, is going to be epic. But more on that later.

Now I’m off to pack, because all the cool kids pack last-minute. Write that down.


1 Specifically, I’m getting picked up for my ride to the airport at 3:30am. Three. Thirty. A. M. As awesome as the weekend will be, tomorrow morning – specifically tomorrow morning at 3:30 in the morning – is going to suck like a bag of smashed hammers.


3 thoughts on “No More Pencils No More Books.”

Leave a Reply

