I Want More

Vanessa, Me, and Paul - happy to be here.

And just like that we’re home. And fear not dear readers – despite the possibility of running into a famished bear waking up from a long winter slumber, or crossing paths with a hungry cougar, the snowshoeing was a success1.

Our adventure took us to Kananaskis Country, specifically to the Lower Lake and Marsh Loop trails. The scenery was spectacular – breathtaking really. The weather was perfect – just cool enough to prevent me from overheating, just warm enough to keep me from freezing. And of course, the company was fantastic.

Joining Rick and me were our friends Paul and Vanessa. I initially met Paul via Rick on one of my earlier visits to Calgary. I met his wife Vanessa shortly thereafter. They are both amazing and I wish I could hang out with them more frequently. Sadly geographical distance prevents such things. I guess this just means I need to travel to Calgary more frequently.

We snowshoed along Lower Kananaskis Lake (within the Peter Lougheed Provincial Park) before stopping for a late lunch. Afterward, we continued our trek while taking in the scenery, getting some amazing jump shots, and pretty much laughing most of the way.

It was a great day. Every time I’m here I realize how much I love the mountains, and how much I wish I could hike through them every day. You know, if not for an amazing job and life in Guelph, I think I could easily move to the mountains3. I realize that I’m insanely fortunate to be able to visit the mountains as often as I do, but I won’t lie – I want more.

More I says!

Anyway, I leave you with a collection of photos from our adventure.

Oh, and for those who celebrate it – Happy Easter.


1 And free of pretty much every animal except for the odd bird, some deer we spied from the car, and of course, Charlie2.

2 Charlie is Paul & Vanessa’s wee fuzzball.

3 I wonder – are the scienticians working on wormholes or portals? Because either of those could easily allow me to work in Guelph whilst spending my time hiking the mountains in the evenings and during my weekends.



8 thoughts on “I Want More”

Leave a Reply

