Let’s Bounce!

These things are 100% Pure Awesome.

Some of you on the Twitter or the Facebook will already be aware that I tried something new the other day. And amazingly, the new something wasn’t even something that I had listed on my Not-So-Bucket-List list1. I was, however, introduced to this new something by my friend Amanda.

What was this new thing? In a word – Kangooing2. Okay, I’m not really sure that’s a word. Actually, I’m pretty sure that it’s not a word. However, I’m going to pretend it is and that it makes perfect sense.

Anyway, Kangoos (or Kangoo Jumps as they are officially known) are a shoe but with a twist. A bouncy twist. And if I were Tigger, I’d say it was a bouncy-trouncy-flouncy-pouncy kind of twist. But I’m not Tigger, so I won’t say that.

What can I tell you about these shoes? Well, for starters they strap on almost like ski boots, but without the forward slanting nature of ski boots. Attached to the base of the shoe is a spring of sorts. A spring that acts to diminish the force that otherwise would pass through your joints if you were to simply go for a run in regular shoes.

Epic Kangooing.

But honestly, while all the technical stuff3 is great, it really doesn’t describe the experience. To understand the experience, you really have to try the Kangoos out for yourself.

I will say this – running in Kangoos (or Kangooing) is hilariously awesome. I dare anyone to try them out and not smile. In fact, I dare anyone to try them and not laugh out loud. I was laughing constantly because the feeling was so different from running. I felt at times like I was floating; that I had the stride of a super hero. And because of that, I found myself running in circles trying ever harder to bounce higher and higher. It was as if I were a little kid attempting to get a high from making myself dizzy.

Point is – they made me feel like a kid. And that is pretty much a priceless feeling.

You really need to give these things a try. You won’t be disappointed.


1 Mainly because I didn’t know this thing existed.

2 A perfectly cromulent word.

3 Technical stuff such as an 80% impact reduction, and an 18% increase in V02 Max (as indicated on their website).


7 thoughts on “Let’s Bounce!”

  1. Yeah, I saw those on TV a while back and have put them on my wish list!! You are so lucky that you got to try them out!!! WIN FOR THE GILLIS!

Leave a Reply

