Bring On The Long Weekend

Happy Canada Day all y’all.

For whatever reason, this week has been extremely long. Strangely, it hasn’t been any different from most of the previous weeks. My days have been filled with meetings, research, more meetings, report writing, even more meetings, and for extra fun – meetings. Regardless, I’ll be smiling the smile of a fat kid with a giant bowl of Smarties tomorrow as soon as my last meeting finishes1.

Why is this the case?

Honestly, I have no idea. It’s not like my sleep habits have changed, my eating habits are the same, and I’m just as active as per my normal. In all ways that I can think of, nothing is different. Regardless, I’ve been exhausted almost every single day this week. To the point of nodding off while at my computer in the afternoon, and suffering accidental naps on several occasions2.

After much thought6 I’ve decided that the reason I’m suffering this ridiculous case of exhaustion is because I haven’t been on a vacation for far too long. Don’t get me wrong, I know I’ve travelled and gone adventuring recently, but none of my adventures have involved a full and proper vacation.

I know, I know – first world problem.

Smarties Rainbow
Mmm, Smarties. Photo credit: Lynne Hand

Regardless, I need to do something about this. Even if it just means planning something. So that is what I’m going to do. I’m not sure when this is going to happen, or where I’m going to go, but I really think I need to find some time to step away from meetings, and research, and other such academic pursuits so that I can just breathe in as much as I can, centre myself, and come back with a renewed sense of awesomeness.

I think I’m also going to try to sleep in past 6:30am on Saturday.

Because I’m nothing if not wild and crazy. Ha!


1 Okay, maybe not all fat kids smile when they have a bowl of Smarties, but I know that when I was the fat kid, I definitely would have been smiling ear-to-ear if presented with my very own bowl of Smarties. I probably would have also spewed venom if you tried to take that bowl of Smarties away from me. Get your own Smarties!

2 I write accidental because, as was the case today, I sat down on my bed to finish an email, blinked, and woke up half an hour later3.

3 Maybe I’m being abducted by aliens4?

4 Although I don’t feel like I’ve been probed-for-alien-science5.

5 I assume that one would be able to tell that they’ve been probed-for-alien-science. Of course, I know nothing about alien-science, or probing-for-alien-science, so maybe one wouldn’t know when that has happened.

6 Which really wasn’t much thought at all.


5 thoughts on “Bring On The Long Weekend”

Leave a Reply

