Taking A Break

So apparently I’ve been working steady since about 7:30 this morning. How it’s now after 11 pm is beyond me. I remember getting home around 5:30, having some food, rubbing Elliot’s belly, and then plopping myself in front of my trusty laptop to continue working on a grant application1, and one of three other draft proposals. The former is due on Wednesday, the latter three are due tomorrow.

Clearly my work day is not over.

However, given the hour I thought it best to take a break, have a scotch2, stretch, rub Elliot’s belly a little more, and clear my mind.

Having stretched, and with glass-o-scotch3 firmly in hand, I figured that I should take some time to review my exercise challenges for the year. I mean, it is July 30th – almost 60% of the year is behind us.

First, let’s review some of the goals I had set for myself this year.

  1. Run a sub 4 hour marathon,
  2. Run two marathons in a month,
  3. Run three marathons this year,
  4. Run 1610 km this year,
  5. Walk 1500 km this year, and
  6. Bike 2200 km this year.

So how am I doing?

Not too shabby I think. First, I ran a sub 4 hour marathon in May. Later that month I ran marathon number two – successfully crossing off the first two items on the list. I’m scheduled to run marathon number three in October – so hopefully, barring injury, I’ll be crossing that item off my list as well.

According to RunKeeper, I’ve walked, I’ve run, or I’ve biked a total of 2020.4 km this year. To put it another way, 2020.4 km is roughly the distance from Guelph to Winnipeg.

Crazy stuff!

Breaking it down by category, I’ve achieved 53% of my walking goal, 40% of my running goal, and 25% of my biking goal.

But Dan, you say, 60% of the year has passed and you haven’t reached 60% of any of your goals!

That is correct, but fear not dear readers, as I am not worried. At least, not yet. Let me explain why.

My running numbers will surely be helped given that I’m about to start another few months of crazy long races. Specifically, I’ve got a 30 km race planned for August, a half marathon (or two) planned for September, the previously mentioned marathon in October, and a half marathon + two 5 km runs (back to back to back) in November. And there is of course the training that I’ll need to put in for all of these races, plus the crazy-ass¬†adventure known as the Goofy Race that I’ve decided to run in January4.

From a biking perspective, I only started riding in May. So, in three short months I’ve already logged 25% of the total that I’ve set myself to bike this year. And given that I’m training to do a 100 km bike ride (with the possibility of something longer), I’m sure I can hit this goal as well. It works out to biking 330 km per month until the end of the year, or slightly less than 11 km per day. Since my bike to and from school accounts for more than half of the required 11 km I’d need to ride per day, I’m thinking 2200 km shouldn’t be too difficult to achieve.

Walking is the one activity I’m not so confident with. To hit my goal I need to walk about 4.6 km per day, every day, for the rest of the year. If I were to walk to and from school every day, this would be easily achieved – but then my biking goal would likely suffer. Clearly I need to find a balance between biking and walking – perhaps walking more frequently and saving my biking kilometres for longer treks. Something I’ll have to consider.

Regardless, I’m pretty happy with how things have been progressing for the year. We’ll see if I can stick to this and somehow make each of my goals.

I have to wonder though, how do I reward myself if I manage to cross off all six of these things on my list?


1 Specifically a Notification of Intent (NOI) to apply for the grant.

2 Because all good NOIs and proposals are written with scotch. That’s a rule – you should probably write it down.

3A very nice dram of 10-year-old Jura:

YUM.

4 For those not in the know, the Goofy Race includes a half marathon (to be run on Saturday, January 12) and a full marathon (to be run on Sunday, January 13).


5 thoughts on “Taking A Break

Leave a Reply

