I No Longer Care What Day It Is

Hello vacation. My brain is officially off. I no longer care what day it is.

And just like that, dear readers, it’s official. As soon as this post hits the interwebs, I am absolutely, positively, no doubt about it, in mind, body, and spirit on the vacation-iest vacation that I’ve ever vacationed.

How am I celebrating my first night of vacation? By crawling into bed early. I know, I’m a wild man. But in my defence I had a rather late but awesome just-what-the-doctor-ordered scotch-filled night last night1, followed by a rather early and lengthy day filled with meetings and grant related writing2. As such, I’m wiped.

Fortunately, I don’t have to get up early tomorrow. I probably will because I love early mornings, but I don’t have to. Knowing that I can roll over and return to the Land of Nod is phenomenal, absolutely freaking phenomenal. Even better, when I do finally rise I know that I won’t have to worry about grants, or papers, or students, or meetings, or edits, or reports, or teaching, or anything. That makes me so happy I can barely stand it.

Judging by the stupid grin that is currently plastered on my face, I’d say vacation starts now.


1 Mmmm, scotch.

2 Note to self – never ever have a late scotch-filled night the day a grant application (no matter how trivial it might seem) is due. Your brain won’t like it, and you won’t like your brain.


One thought on “I No Longer Care What Day It Is

Leave a Reply

