Today I Wore Several Hats

Dinner in the Distillery District.

When I awoke this morning I immediately knew that something was different. I knew that I had slept in, although I also knew that I still had time to lay in bed as my alarm hadn’t gone off. Elliot was curled up next to me softly purring and likely dreaming about chasing mice or whatever it is that cats dream of. I could see a few sunbeams poking through my rather thick curtains, cutting the as-close-to-pitch-as-I-can-make-it that was my room.

I smiled. I stretched. I smiled some more.

Hello vacation I said out loud, I’ve missed you.

And so, dear readers, today was the first official day of my vacation. I haven’t been this excited about a vacation in a while – likely because I haven’t been travelling and vacationing anywhere close to the same amount as last year1.

All I know is that when I woke up, it just felt right.

I swear that I’m being followed.

After snuggling with Elliot, I decided to get up and get my day started. The plan: heading to Toronto with my friend Manon. The goal: we had no goal. Essentially we were just going to wander and let fate determine where we would go and what we would end up doing.

As fate would have it, much of our day was spent wandering the rooms of the Royal Ontario Museum (ROM) exploring art and history from China and Japan, as well as a great collection of fossils and dinosaurs2. In case I haven’t mentioned it before now, I am a huge dinosaur geek. I was stoked to see the skeletons and imagine what they must have been like when they were clothed with flesh and blood.

Get in my belly!

After the ROM we wandered over to the Distillery District. We may or may not have bought chocolate, and I may or may not have sampled and purchased some sake. I can’t be expected to remember everything I’ve done after I’ve sampled sake, right?

Needless to say the Distillery District was fantastic. We opted to stay there for dinner – trying out the wares of the Pure Spirits Oyster House & Grill. Dinner was the icing on the proverbial cake that was my first day of vacation. Calamari and raw oysters? Hells ya.

Anyway I’m home now and completely content. I’m tired, but it’s not the same kind of tired one has after a day of work filled with meetings. It’s the kind of tired one has after wandering the city of Toronto, enjoying whatever might fall in his lap.

I can’t wait to see what the rest of my vacation has to offer.


1 Something that I really need to fix.

2 And hats. They also had a great and ridiculous collection of hats.

I love this hat.
I should lecture in this hat.
The Egyptian look.

One thought on “Today I Wore Several Hats

Leave a Reply

