Today Was My Monday

Pretty much how I felt for the last 3 days of my vacation. Boo. Boo indeed.

Well dear readers, today was my first day back to work after a week off1. I’m sure you are all wondering how it went. Okay, you’re probably not wondering but I’m going to tell you anyway.

I won’t lie – it was tough. Really tough. I think the biggest challenge of going back to work today wasn’t so much the actual act of going to work, it was the act of going to work while still feeling like a bag of smashed hammers.

I’m still not feeling 100%, my throat hurts, and I feel completely exhausted. And not the I just finished an awesome vacation3 and am tired from all of the adventuring type of exhausted; the holy shit everything is achy and I feel old and I want to crawl into my bed and sleep for 1000 years type of exhausted. You know, the sucky awful kind of exhausted.

Boo.

Boo indeed.

The second biggest challenge of the day was the rain, or more accurately, the effect the rain had on me. You might be thinking that the grey skies and rain added to my overall mood of achy whining suckbaggery, but that’s actually not the case. The effect the rain had on me was far more physical. That is, having walked to school in a bit of a back-to-work-after-a-week-off haze, I stepped several times into puddles that I should have noticed from about 1000 miles away. Instead, I introduced my shoes to a butt load of water. They in turn introduced my socks to a butt load of water, and they in turn introduced my feet to a butt load of water. It was all very friendly of them, but it left my feet freezing. Which means I was freezing. All day.

Boo.

Boo indeed.

I know, I know – Suck it up Gillis.

Despite how I was feeling, and especially despite the cold wet feet, today turned out to be a rather productive – albeit long – day. While I didn’t manage to cross off the 10 items I had tasked myself to complete, I did finish 6 of the items, and am 50% of the way through a 7th. Finishing all 10 would have been stellar, but from the get-go I knew it was unlikely (even if I were in my usual perfect fighting non-sore-throat-y form).

Anyway, here’s hoping that tomorrow is just as productive, minus the cold wet feet, and plus about 1000 health points.

Whatever happens, I’m going to do exactly what I did today when I started having my own personal pity party. I’m going to remember to Suck it up Gillis, and I’m also going to remember that in 18 short days I’ll be taking on the Big Mountain Challenge with Rick. Thinking of that adventure is guaranteed to put a smile on my face.

Like it’s doing right now. W00t!


1 Which was all sorts of awesome despite feeling awful for the last 4 days thank-you very much whatever plague has decided to take root inside my otherwise pure and wholesome self2.

2 Pffft – pure and wholesome – I can’t even write that without giggling to myself.

3 Which I did.


One thought on “Today Was My Monday”

Leave a Reply

