Sweet 16 Plus Legal To Drink In The States

 

A note on my office door. I wonder who was responsible for this?

The last several days have been, um, interesting. Let’s recap.

About a week ago I received notification from Rick that he had won the Big Mountain Challenge, and that I would be joining him as he hikes 3 mountains to raise money for The Kidney Foundation of Canada.

Awesome-sauce.

Earlier this week, we started our campaign to raise $5000 – money that would be matched by Banff Lake Louise Tourism. After less than 3 days of fundraising, we are already at 82% of our goal1.

Awesome-sauce with a cherry on top.

On Monday I learned that I had won a draw on campus. My prize, a $25 gift card to be used at any hospitality services location on campus. Which is pretty much everywhere. Also, if I’m not mistaken, they own the on campus Starbucks. So we all know how I’m using my new-found wealth.

Awesome-sauce with a cherry on top AND chocolate sprinkles.

And then the other proverbial shoe dropped.

Kitty litter soup? Anyone? Anyone?

After venturing out with my brother last night to grab a coffee and get some work done, I was brought back to reality by a single little phone call. On the other end of the line, my condo corporation informing me that there was a leak coming from my condo.

EEP.

I rushed home to find a massive flood. The night before my 37th birthday.

Double EEP.

And then I discovered that Elliot’s litter box was in the direct line of water. And had overflown. Everywhere.

EW.

Oh fine, I’ll go ahead and say it. Double EW.

But don’t worry folks, this isn’t a whoa-is-me kind of story. In fact, it’s quite the opposite. My brother and I quickly had the water supply cut ending the torrential flow of water into my home. Within seconds I was furiously mopping up water. Elliot watched bemused from the sidelines. When I could mop no more, I realized that Elliot needed a place to do his business. Twitter to the rescue. More accurately, a bunch of awesome friends to the rescue.

We can rebuild it. We have the technology.

And that’s the point of this post. Within seconds of people finding out about the flood, I had offers for help clean up the mess, offers of places to stay, offers of food, and scotch and kitty litter deliveries. It was overwhelming and awesome and in a very strange way made my birthday one of the best ever. Because in the grand scheme of things, the things in life really don’t matter. Yes there is a lot of damage, yes it’s going to be a royal pain in the ass to deal with, and yes I am going to have to live in a very cluttered condo for a period of time. But, and this is a big but, it’s all stuff that’s replaceable. What’s irreplaceable are the amazing family and friends who have immediately jumped to my rescue.

To be reminded of that on my birthday – well, that’s pretty freaking amazing.

Oh – you might be curious about the title of this post. I’m 37 today; 37=16+21. In other words, I’m celebrating my sweet 16 plus I am legally able to drink in the states. Clearly this is cause for celebration.

I think I’ll go pour myself a scotch.


1 Thank you so much to everyone for donating and spreading the word – keep it up.


 

6 thoughts on “Sweet 16 Plus Legal To Drink In The States”

Leave a Reply

