My Newest Challenge

This is how the place looked this morning…

I just got home a few minutes ago. I’m not sure what I was expecting, but what I found was not it. I knew that more drywall had to be removed based on the amount of flooding I had after the burst pipe on Tuesday. But whatever I had in my mind was far tidier than the reality.

In short, my condo is a sty.

Being a rather tidy person – you know, the kind of person who wants everything organized and in place1 – you can understand that clutter tends to make me uneasy. Which means I’m not overly comfortable in my own home. Which sucks.

Clearly this is something I’m going to have to get over, because this is likely not going to be fixed very soon. Which means I have a new challenge. And so, dear readers, I present to you my newest challenge – which may actually be my toughest challenge yet2:

I need to learn to be patient with this process. I need to allow myself to be frustrated and annoyed, but not let the frustration and annoyance get the better of me. Because all of this will be fixed, and everything will be back to normal – but it’s going to take time. And I need to be okay with that.

It’s going to be a tough couple of days – likely weeks – probably months – but I can do this. I have to.



1 Or at least out of mind.

2 Tougher than pretty much most of the things I’ve done this year3.

3 Yes, even tougher than all that running.

2 thoughts on “My Newest Challenge

  1. That is friggin’ brutal! BRUTAL!!

    But, like you say, you need to be OK with it being a big of a mess for a bit – and so you will be. Because you have beat many a challenge before and I know you will beat this one – even though it’s the toughest one. You can do it!

Leave a Reply

