The Edge Walk

Look ma, no hands!

I would have sworn that the CN Tower Edge Walk was on my Not-So-Bucket-List list, but apparently it wasn’t. I repeat – wasn’t. Given that this has been on the list in my mind since I heard about it last year, I’ve turned wasn’t into was by retroactively adding it to my list today. It is now item #279.

And because I completed the CN Tower Edge Walk today, I’m very quickly crossing item #279 from my list. I’m nothing if not efficient.

The walk itself was incredible. After being very securely tethered to the tower by not one but two ropes, we – we being me, Gerarda, Alan, Randy, and two other people (Mark and Deborah) who joined our group – took our first steps 356 metres (1168 feet) above the streets of Toronto.

In a word – amazing.

The adrenalin rush was almost immediate. The view – especially given the clear day we were presented with – was fantastic. We were able to see Niagara Falls and Rochester New York from our vantage. And of course, we could see Toronto in all directions. It was simply stunning.

Our first challenge was called Toes Over Toronto. The goal, walk to the edge of the ledge to the point where part of our feet were off of it. Then, let go of our support ropes. Crazy exhilarating. It’s amazing how much the body does not want to do it.

The second challenge – turn around, sit down, and then slowly walk ourselves backwards over the edge. Once there, extend our legs and enjoy the feeling of leaning off of the tower. For me, this was very much like repelling. Exhilarating, amazing, and absolutely insane. I’d so do it again.

The last challenge was the biggest of them all. Face out from the tower, walk forward, and then lean out as if diving off the tower. Amazing!

Honestly, the adventure is beyond words. I’m currently processing a video from the day so will post that as soon as possible.

As for me – I’m off to bed – but I’m already thinking that I have to do this again.


11 thoughts on “The Edge Walk

  1. Weird that my reply didn’t show up… Anyway next time you feel like going count me in. My stomach and knees were experiencing the anxiety of standing on the edge by merely readin your description…. Must deal with that sensation.

Leave a Reply

