The Word Of The Day Is Spoiled

Pffft. Cascade Mountain – you ain’t so big.

Despite sleeping through my alarm this morning, I managed to make my way successfully to Calgary where I met Rick who was patiently awaiting my arrival. We spent an hour or so in the airport; chatting, feasting on some Timmies sandwiches, and catching up, before we boarded our bus to Banff.

The 1.5 hour drive felt quick – likely because I was captivated by the scenery, and also because Rick and I had a lot of catching up to do. In all seriousness, I love the mountains. I feel at home here, and could imagine myself living in this area at some point in the future.

But I digress.

Our room comes with a fancy antlered mirror.

We arrived at the Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel around 3:00 pm and were assigned our room – correction – we were assigned our upgraded room. You know – the room with a view.

Let me just take a moment and say holy crapshite this hotel is amazing. The room is absolutely spectacular, consisting of a bedroom with two queen size beds, an enormous bathroom, and a living room with fireplace and an amazing view of the mountains. How spoiled are we? Very is a bit of an understatement.

Sunset, Banff style. I approve.

The mountain views continued as we headed downtown for dinner. Everywhere we looked there was something amazing to see. From the clouds over the mountains, to the rays of the setting sun transforming the peaks into amazing shades of blue and purple – I felt completely overwhelmed by the beauty of it all.

Following dinner and return to our room, we were surprised to learn that the hotel had further spoiled us with a basket of fresh fruit and a note from the Regional Vice-President and General Manager of the hotel. I won’t lie, I feel a little like a rock star. I think that I could get used to this.

Anyway, our hike starts tomorrow at 6am. Which means I should get my tired but very hyper and spoiled self to bed.

Night all y’all.


4 thoughts on “The Word Of The Day Is Spoiled

Leave a Reply

