Hike. Spa. Repeat.

Ya. I’m cool like that.

It’s amazing what a good sleep, an amazing breakfast, and an hour-long sports massage will do for an I-just-climbed-a-mountain weary body.

As I mentioned in yesterday’s post, Rick and I conquered the first of three mountains that we must summit in order for Rick to receive a very palindrome-y cheque for $26762 for The Kidney Foundation of Canada. We’ve so got this.

While yesterday’s mountain conquering was just what I needed, it left my body completely exhausted. And while my everything hurt, and my everything’s everything also hurt, I couldn’t help but smile. The feeling of standing on top of the world is incredible. It’s overwhelming to be able to look a full 360 degrees at so much of this country’s natural beauty. And it’s awesome to be able to do this with Rick. As far as people go, he’s pretty cool.

Manly tools.

Today is our day to relax. That meant sleeping in – or at least attempting to sleep in. When first I woke it was 5:15. Clearly I said screw you clock and dozed off. I woke up again about an hour later. Instead of getting up and potentially waking Rick, I decided to enjoy the cocoon that I had made for myself and reflect on yesterday’s adventure. Eventually I jumped out of bed and hopped into the shower. I was surprised at how good my body felt given how exhausted it was the night before. Regardless, the extra hot shower was exactly what I needed.

We made our way to breakfast at the Bow Valley Grill on level M1 of the Fairmont Banff Springs hotel. Breakfast was delicious – bacon1, eggs2, stewed fruit (including prunes, apricots, and raisins)3, chicken and bison sausage4, coffee, and freshly squeezed orange juice. Definitely just what I needed.

After breakfast our spa day began. Now let me just say that I’ve never had a spa day before, but I now understand why people do this. I haven’t felt this relaxed in ages.

So relaxed

First up: an hour-long sports massage with Courtney. The massage started out rather gentle. I won’t lie – I was worried that I’d end up with a relaxing massage instead of the deep tissue massage that I needed. But Courtney soon proved that she knew what she was doing. Deep breathing is really the only way to get through a deep tissue sports massage; well, deep breathing or cursing like a sailor. Since I only just met Courtney, I opted to protect her innocent ears from an onslaught of profanity. She found all of the spots – especially those around my hip flexors – that needed serious attention. And holy hell did it hurt. But in a good way. Afterwards, I can honestly say that I felt about a million times better.

Rick and I sat around afterwards enjoying our post-massage bliss, hydrating with lemon water, and then with cucumber-mint water. We’re nothing if not fancy. We also wandered the spa to see the facilities – as we have access to them for the entire day. We may or may not have also shaved given that the spa provided all the necessary tools for such an activity. I won’t lie – it was pretty awesome5.

After lunch we returned to the spa to enjoy the mineral water baths, the sauna, the eucalyptus steam room, the water falls, and the hot tub. To say that it was relaxing and just what our muscles needed was an understatement. I could definitely get used to living like this. Hike. Spa. Repeat.

Speaking of repeat, we’ve got a date with a hot tub and a steam room. It’s a rough life, but someone has to do it.


As promised, here are some other pics from yesterday’s trek to summit Cascade.

Making our way through the trees.
The Cascade Amphitheatre – early on the way to the summit.
Just above the tree line on our way to the summit
The summit is to the far left in the backgroun.
At the summit. Freezing, but happy.
Rick – all smiles.
Our hotel. Or as @therobcampbell suggested, Gillis Manor. Ha!

1 Yum!

2 Which, on first bite, turned out to have cheese in them – so I had to opt out of eating them.

3 Surprisingly very yum!

4 I want more of both of these.

5 This may or may not have to do with the fact that, at the age of 37, I still only (need to) shave twice a week. And it may or may not have to do with the fact that I still feel like a big boy when I’m doing so.


3 thoughts on “Hike. Spa. Repeat.

Leave a Reply

