A New Theme

 

This comic has nothing to do with this post, I just like it.

You may have noticed something different about the blog tonight.

No?

Well, no worries.

In the event that you hadn’t noticed, I’ve opted to change my blog theme from one called Freshy to one called Ocean Mist. If you frequent my academic blog (danielgillis.wordpress.com) you’ll notice that I’ve adopted the same theme that I use over there for this blog.

Apparently I like Ocean Mist. And consistency.

What possessed me to change the theme?

To be perfectly honest, I liked how the Ocean Mist theme worked a little more. It has a few more options, such as allowing me to randomize my cover photo (that photo you see at the top of the page). And if you know me, you’ll know that I like randomization. Because I’m a statistician. Get it? Ha! Stats humour. I kill me. It also has what I consider to be better control over the menu structure. Yes I realize how nerdy that sounds, but I do love all things nerdy.

Anyway, I haven’t sold myself on the change yet. First and foremost, I want to know what you think of the change. Maybe leave a comment if you think it’s good, bad, indifferent, or ugly. And in case you have forgotten what the old blog looked like, I’ve painstakingly uploaded the before and after photos for your perusal.

Change is good, no?


The old blog theme – called Freshy
The new theme – called Ocean Mist

 

7 thoughts on “A New Theme”

  1. There something about the blue boxes around the titles in the right side bar that’s throwing me off slightly. But I’m not sure yet. I *think* I like this one better. Leave it for a few posts and let I’ll pay attention to how I feel. Ew. Feelings.

  2. I find the new one harder to read. There is less contrast with the blue for those of us with vision issues. Well at least me anyways ;)

    1. Hmm, I’ll see what I can do about that. It’s weird – this theme is easier for me to read because the contrast is lower. High contrast doesn’t work well with my vision issues.

  3. It’s pretty sexy. I like the new tabs (“About”, “Blogs”, etc.) ‘cuz they kind of look like tabs instead of just one bar with all those words).

    Also, I’m two beer drunk, so you probably shouldn’t trust me opinion.

Leave a Reply

