Thanks Guelphonography!

The Barn: my entry to the guelPhonography contest

You may remember about a month and a half ago – more specifically July 25, 2012 – I posted about a little photo competition in Guelph known as guelPhonography (for full details about the contest, click here).

In the event that you have no idea what I’m talking about, the contest was put together to celebrate the City of Guelph, and the amazingly creative people who live here. All you had to do to enter was snap a picture of Guelph with your mobile phone and submit it to the contest organizers.

Well guess what?

Apparently I can count myself as one of those amazingly creative people because the photo I submitted – called The Barn – was one of the 30 selected for the upcoming guelPhonography exhibit1, 2. I won’t lie, I didn’t think my photo stood a chance because of the amazing entries that I saw. To say that I’m flattered and stoked is an understatement.

Children of the Corn: an awesome day with my nieces, brothers, and sister-in-law.

What makes this even better is that the photo came from a day when I was exploring a friend’s barn with my nieces Haley3, Sydney, and Makenzie, my younger brother Aidan, my older brother Bernie4, and my sister-in-law Becky. You see, not long before this day of enjoying some quality family time together Bernie was in a massive car accident, and before that his youngest Haley was battling the flesh-eating disease. And yet here we were on a beautiful summer day exploring the field and the barn, clucking with the chickens, picking berries, and sampling the corn, all without a care in the world. It’s funny how life works.

I can’t wait for the exhibit to open. It’ll be great to see all of the photos together, celebrating Guelph, celebrating the people who live here, and celebrating life in general.

Thanks for picking my photo guelPhonography. I can’t wait for opening night.


1 The exhibit runs September 28th until November 19th at the Guelph Civic Museum.

2 For a full list of those selected, click here.

3 Whom you may remember from such epic posts as Bite My Ass Flesh-Eating Disease (But Not Really).

4 Whom you may remember from such epic posts as How My Brother Got His Boo Boo, and What I Learned Today.


5 thoughts on “Thanks Guelphonography!

Leave a Reply

