The Importance Of Dining

I know what you’re thinking, and yes, you do want this, and yes, you should be jealous.

After a very long and exhausting day I opted to head to Baker Street Station for dinner and a beer.

To be honest, I was thinking about Baker Street pretty much all day because I knew that they were launching their new menu this eve. If you know me even a little, you’ll know that I’ve been a giant fan of the Station since I first sampled their onion rings. So freaking good.

My distraction with all things Baker Street was multiplied as a result of mentions yesterday on the Twitter and the Instagram – both which offered me an early glimpse of the menu. So ya, I was pretty much preoccupied with visions of Dill Pickle Wings, Muscovy Duck, and Butter Chicken Curry (to name a few). In case you were curious, I had the Muscovy Duck and it was incredible. Each bite like a chorus of delicious little angels dancing on my tongue.

The best part about dinner – aside from the dancing delicious angel-y goodness – was that it gave me some time to stop and breathe. It was definitely something I needed to do. As I mentioned earlier, today was exhausting. Sadly this wasn’t from lack of sleep (although I’m sure that was a contributing factor), nor was it associated with the pain of writing grant applications. Today I allowed someone to get under my skin; and in a large way. After a particular encounter I returned to my office frustrated, angry, annoyed, and tense. Instead of breathing, I kept replaying the situation over in my head. Instead of letting go, I just held on – imagining various should-have-said-this responses that would have successfully made my point while at the same time leaving the source of my stress writhing at the pointy end of my cleverly quick and in-your-face wit.

Sadly, replaying the story and imagining responses did nothing to relieve me of my stress. To the contrary, I felt worse. The cycle of replaying and imagining only reinforced my level of angst and discomfort. All because I allowed someone else to dictate my experience.

Fortunately, stopping to eat was the best thing I could have done. Savouring a delicious meal, each and every bite of it, helped me turn off my brain, helped me focus on the here and now, helped me realize that I was wasting my energy getting worked up over someone who should have zero effect on my life.

Now I’m home – sated, relaxed, breathing, and more than ready to work for a few more hours. I’m not saying I will work for a few more hours, but in theory I’m saying I could.


3 thoughts on “The Importance Of Dining”

Leave a Reply

