A Universal Law

Oh gawd – NSERC? Still? Really? Why won’t this thing end?

Given that I’m neck-deep in NSERC grant writing, today’s post is going to be short and sweet. And by that, I mean it’s going to be presented in list form – because lists are short and sweet, and who doesn’t like a list?

So without further ado, here is the first of two short and sweet lists:

  1. I was stoked to learn that one of my students will be officially defending her Masters thesis on the 29th of October. For more details, check out the my other post here.
  2. I was also stoked to learn that one of my other students has successfully made the transition from Masters student to PhD student. She is a biological rock star, and I have no doubt that she’s going to be kick-ass awesome as a PhD student and as a soon-to-be Doctor.
  3. My class presented paper prototypes of the website they are developing this semester to our client. The project has been dubbed Farm to Fork and once it’s done is going to be super amazingly awesome. I was thrilled at how organized and professional they were, and everyone that came to view the demonstration remarked how organized and professional they were as well – so although I was probably biased, my observations were backed up by external support.

I also identified several other rules today while chatting with people about various things, science related and not so science related:

  1. Grant writing plus chocolate is way better than grant writing, and
  2. Booze helps research.

In other news, rule number 1 was generalized to Anything plus chocolate is way better than anything without chocolate. After careful consideration, this was upgraded to a law of the universe; on the same level as the laws of conservation of energy, momentum, and angular momentum.

In other other news, I grow weary of writing grant applications, and I think my brain may be broken. This post might actually be evidence in support of that fact.


4 thoughts on “A Universal Law”

Leave a Reply

