63.3 Begins Now

Disney: Bringing the pain in just over 80 days.

In just over 81 days – on Saturday January 12, 2013 at 5:30 in the morning1 – Mark and I will be lining up at the starting gates of the Donald Duck Half Marathon. In just over 82 days – Sunday January 13, 2013 at 5:30 in the morning2, Mark and I will step back onto the course, this time to run the Mickey Mouse Full Marathon.

Putting this into perspective and assuming we manage to run the marathon in 4 hours, we’ll have run 63.3 kilometres in 28 hours3.

Excuse me for a moment, I think I just threw up in my mouth.

What does all of this mean? It means I need to get off of my lazy ass and get back to training. And so dear readers, today was the day that I made the move. Today I laced up my runners and stepped outside, took a few deep breaths, turned on RunKeeper and set off. I won’t lie, it’s been a long while since I was outside running and I was worried that I’d be bagged rather quickly. Fortunately that wasn’t the case. The beautiful weather, the perfect temperature – everything seemed to work for me tonight. I only ran 3 kilometres, but it was comfortable and as if I’d never taken a break. Definitely a great way to get back into the swing of things.

As for training, I have no idea how to best prepare my body for a half-marathon-followed-by-a-full-marathon weekend. I’ve scoured the all-knowing all-powerful Google and have decided on a schedule that (once it gets going) looks something like this:

  • Monday: get bendy – stretch for 30 to 60 minutes.
  • Tuesday: get bendy – stretch for 30 to 60 minutes.
  • Wednesday: short run for the week.
  • Thursday: longer run than Wednesday – sometimes double.
  • Friday: get bendy – stretch for 30 t0 60 minutes.
  • Saturday: run X kilometres (longer run of the week).
  • Sunday: run 2X kilometres (longest run of the week).
I hope I look this good when I’m running.

Of course, I’m going to need to get bendy every day that I run as well – otherwise I’m going to fall apart. And this schedule isn’t perfect. Some weeks (like this one) I’ll be running Monday and Tuesday, other weeks Tuesday and Wednesday. Ultimately the goal is to be able to run 17 kilometres on January 5, and 34 kilometres on January 6th, followed by a week of tapering leading up to the big event. All this so that I can run a half marathon followed by a full marathon on January 12 and 13.

Is this insane? Probably.

Am I going to do it? Abso-freaking-lutely.

Having said that, I realize that this isn’t going to be easy. I also realize there are going to be days that I just don’t want to run. Those are the days that I’m going to have to¬†Suck it up Gillis and just do it. Those are going to be the days that I’m going to need a lot of encouragement. Those are the days when I’m truly going to be training.

Eighty-one days. Bring it.


1 Why am I only just noticing that the race begins at 5:30 in the morning?

2 I mean really – how did I not notice this before?

3 Theoretically with a break of about 22 hours between the first 21.1 and last 42.2 kilometres.


 

2 thoughts on “63.3 Begins Now”

Leave a Reply

