Dear Santa

Mmmm, Christmas coffee.

For the past two days I’ve spent the bulk of my time in meetings. Given that we all know how much I love meetings, you can imagine how thrilled I was to realize that I would spend the better part of my waking hours locked in a room discussing this and that and everything and nothing1.

Fortunately, the meetings turned out to be very productive. And better than that – they ended early. For those not in the know, nothing is better than a meeting that ends early2. This is also a sign that the day is likely going to be awesome.

When I got back to campus I did what any reasonable person would do; I headed straight to Starbucks for coffee. And this, dear readers, is when my day transitioned from awesome to awesomer. That’s correct; I wrote awesomer.

You’re now probably wondering how my day could get any more awesome than a day that included a meeting that ended early. Well, on arrival to Starbucks I ordered my usual3 coffee. I may have also ordered a slice of their cinnamon cake, because shut-up, I wanted cake – stop judging me. When I handed my card to the cashier to ring in my order, she promptly handed it back to me stating

Don’t worry about it. Your order has been taken care of, courtesy of a Secret Santa.

To be honest, I didn’t understand what she had said first. When it finally registered, I stood there gobsmacked.

Seriously? Some mysterious someone bought me a coffee and snack? Seriously? SERIOUSLY?

I attempted to play cool; and by that I mean I grinned like an idiot. Sadly, I couldn’t help but embrace my giddy response.

Who? Wha? 

I’m pretty sure I tried to ask several questions about said Secret Santa, but all that came out of me was a stupid grin. When I finally managed to mutter something that resembled an english sentence, the cashier simply told me that she had no idea who had bought me this gift; the only thing she knew was that one of the other cashiers had informed her that she was to watch out for me and pass along the gift.

So ya, today turned out to be pretty spectacular. It’s amazing how something as simple as buying someone a coffee can make all the difference in the world.

To whomever bought me this gift, thank you, thank you, thank you. It really was an amazing surprise. It was the cherry on top of a pretty awesome day.


1 Usually nothing.

2 Except, I guess, not having a meeting in the first place.

3 A tall blonde with a single pump of hazelnut.


 

3 thoughts on “Dear Santa

Leave a Reply

