Christmas Eve Eve

I remember when I was younger how time would slow to a crawl prior to Christmas arriving.

Holy hell. How is it Christmas already?

With all the running around and shopping and cooking1 and visiting with friends2 and parties and lunches and gift exchanges and pub crawls3 and beers and cookies, time has flown by. When I was young, it felt like every second until Christmas morning was longer than the last. And here we are – tomorrow is Christmas Eve – making today Christmas Eve Eve.

Given the crazy schedule of the past week or two, I opted to spend the bulk of my day lounging at home watching movies while the wee fuzzball purred contentedly nuzzled in the crook of my arm. I assume he was purring contentedly because he remained there, curled up with me for hours. He purred through several movies, only moving when I had to get up to answer the call of nature or to get something to eat or drink.

After we had finished watching our second movie, I had one of those moments where I was reminded how awesome the simple things in life are, and how amazingly lucky I am to be able to enjoy them. I think that’s one of the best things about this time of year. It’s remembering all of those little things that make life amazing. It’s not the fancy ribbons and bows, it’s not the shiny new baubles and trinkets. It’s the laughter and smiles shared with loved ones. It’s the time spent with family.

And in my case, it’s the Sunday mornings spent watching movies with a good friend.

Merry Christmas Eve Eve all y’all.


1 Ha! Who am I kidding? I didn’t cook anything.

2 One of my favourite Christmas things to do.

3 Such as last night’s the 12 Bars of Christmas.


One thought on “Christmas Eve Eve

Leave a Reply

