That’s #2394 To You

30km of pure wholesome running goodness.

So apparently the Around the Bay 30km race is less than 3 weeks away. I realized this at some point this morning when I received notice that I had been assigned a bib number.

EEP!

A bib number means business – serious business. And today I learned that serious business went by the bib number 2394.

Being the very serious person that I am, my first task was to consider any and all mathematical properties of my number. You see dear readers, if my bib number is bestowed with any special mathemagical properties, the going theory is that those properties will rub off on me. In short, mathemagical properties translate to faster, stronger, more awesome-tastic runs. True story.

Honestly, I can’t even imagine what would happen if the stars aligned and I were to get any of the first n digits of Pi. Can you imagine how fast I would run if I were to get bib 314? Or 3141? Or 31415? Mathemagically speaking, I’d be pretty much guaranteed to win. Math doesn’t lie folks.

Sadly, two, three, nine, and four are not the first four digits of Pi. In fact, the appearance of the string of numbers 2394 doesn’t even show up in the digits of Pi until the 8832nd position after the decimal. Truth be told, I haven’t found anything terribly mathematically special about 2394. I do know that 2393 is prime. And 2394 factors as 2*3*3*7*19, but that’s pretty much it. From a mathematical point of view, that’s equivalent to¬†beige.

What does all of this mean? I think it’s obvious. I shouldn’t expect any sort of mathematical wizardry to get me through this run, meaning that I actually need to put in the work to make sure I’m trained sufficiently. And that of course means that I need to get my ass off the couch and on to the treadmill if I expect to complete the race in any sort of reasonable time.

Clearly I have a lot of work to do. Oh math, why have you forsaken me?


 

Leave a Reply

