What Melts In Your Mouth And Tastes Like A Sun Tanning Hottie?

So Hawaii just keeps on giving.  When I started unpacking my bags yesterday I discovered the M&Ms I had purchased on the last day that Rick and I were wandering around Waikiki.  Now these aren’t regular M&Ms, and that is what makes them blog-worthy.  They are Coconut M&M’s, as demonstrated in the following mirror image proof-providing photo.

Coconut M&M's really do exist!

After opening the package, I discovered that the Coconut M&M’s come only in brown, green, and white.  Very coconut like indeed!  And similar to the regular M&M’s, the coconut variety does NOT melt in your hand.  They do however melt in your mouth, releasing a tasty combination of chocolate and coconut-like flavouring.

Coconut M&M's melt in your mouth, not in your hand. Clearly.

Looking closer, I discovered something else AMAZING.

The stamps include palm trees and umbrellas. Clever!

Coconut M&M’s have unique stampage.  Specifically, some have the traditional ‘m’ label, while others include an ‘m’ with a palm tree, or an umbrella.  How very Hawaiian/tropical.

“But how do they taste?” you ask.  Well, according to a not-so-random1 random sample of the two people currently sitting in my condo who happened to share the package of Coconut M&M’s, they are okay.  I mean, they do taste of chocolate and coconut, and they would presumably satisfy any sort of candy, coconut and chocolate craving, but they could be better.  Perhaps dark chocolate would be an improvement.  Or perhaps they could actually contain real coconut, and not just coconut flavouring.  Who knows?  I’m not really an M&M’s expert (although I do love the regular and the peanut butter varieties).  Additionally, I don’t think the flavour justifies the 210 Calories per package of 42.5 grams of candy-coated goodness2.  But then again, I’m sure that those that would consume this product on a regular basis aren’t really counting their Calories.

Regardless, the novelty of this candy coated goodness makes it aces in my books, at least for the moment.  I think the clever stamps won me over.  Thankfully, I have another package that I can eat at a later time, when I perhaps crave chocolate, coconut, and candy coating, or perhaps when I feel the bite of winter and want to fondly remember my Hawaiian adventure with Rick.


1 Where not-so-random means not random at all.

2 Apparently this Caloric value is about the same as the regular and the peanut butter varieties.  Who knew?

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Matt says:

    Gah! The novelty of artificial flavouring of a new kind means that Hawaii gets a +1 in pull factor for me! I’m surprised they don’t have Macadamia nut versions too, made with a mostly-real Macadamia nut amalgam of some variety. 🙂

    Welcome back to reality!

    1. dangillis says:

      Oh my gawd – Macadamia Nut M&M’s would be EPIC. EPIC I say. You should write to the M&M’s people, and collect whatever compensation they would clearly reward you.

      Maybe by writing about M&M’s in this post, they will see it in their hearts to send me free samples? Hello M&M’s people, I’m looking at you.

  2. Beth says:

    They sell coconut M&Ms in Vancouver. We do have palm trees (seriously, a few people here grow palm trees on their lawns), so maybe they thought we were Hawaii.

    I only know this because Kalev bought some when he was here and then he forgot them and then I gave them away because I’m a chocolate snob and refuse, for the most part, to eat milk chocolate. And reading your review, I think I made the right choice!

  3. Marie says:

    If I wasn’t disappointed enough to not be joining this trip before, consider me now absolutely devastated. Coconut M&Ms sound just too good to be true! So glad you both had a great trip!

    1. dangillis says:

      I won’t lie, you definitely missed out on an amazing adventure, stitches included 🙂

Leave a Reply

