This Is What Awesome People Do

A conversation occurred while Rick and I were vacationing in Hawaii.  It went a little something like this:

  • Me: Is it wrong that I’m already planning my next vacation even though my Hawaiian adventure isn’t over?
  • Rick: No, that’s what awesome people do.

And he is right.  That *IS* what awesome people do.  So, having just returned home from vacation, one might think that I’d be refreshed enough to focus my attention completely on my immense pile of work.  Um, you’ve met me, right?  Clearly this is not the case.  In fact, I have quite a list of destinations lined up this year.  Some are for vacation, others are for Statistical conferences.  Based on this, I can only say that I must be full of the awesome that Rick described during our Hawaiian conversation.  Full of it long time and repeatedly.

Anyway, here is my list summarizing this year’s travel plans.  Note that this may change at any time, and I reserve the right to append the list as I see fit.  Especially if I win big money.


A note to all would-be criminals: While I won’t be home during these dates, my house will be protected by a smoke monster, the wrath of khan, the force, and the power of greyskull. I suggest you turn around and find another place to burgle.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Rick says:

    That is DEFINITELY what awesome people do! Yay GEOMED conference!

  2. Beth says:

    I am so double plus unawesome it is not even funny. My travel plans for 2010 include a family reunion in Gananoque/spending some time in Toronto meeting my new nephew or niece in June and, if I get accepted to the Institute Institute, then I’ll go to Maryland on the same trip out east.

    I am going to Vancouver Island two weekends from now to give an invited guest stats lecture at Vancouver Island University, but that’s really not much of a trip from here.

    That is just sad. Clearly, I need to awesome up.

    1. dangillis says:

      Oh Dr. Beth. Fear not. Your awesome is not an awesome that can be measured by any travel metric.

  3. And what about visiting US when you’re in Ottawa, huh!?! 🙂

    We’ll come to cheer you on in the half. Not at the finish (it’s a zoo and impossible with littles) but maybe near Dow’s Lake. Go Dan!

    I almost ALWAYS have the next trip planned before I even leave for the first (and often over a year out). To wit: we planned our trip for my Dad’s 65th birthday celebration (Nov 2011) in April of 2010. The plans included Veronica, who at the time was “Baby McLean as I was only 5 months pregnant.

    That said, our plans include:
    – A cruise to Central and South America at the end of the month
    – A trip to Vermont in the spring/summer
    – A cruise from NYC to the Caribbean for the aforementioned birthday.

    Lots of other ideas, but those are the plans so far. I can’t wait to hear about your trips, Dan!

    1. dangillis says:

      I absolutely will come to visit. I always forget how many people I know that live in Ottawa. Crazy. And it would be awesome to have a cheering squad. w00t!

      Where in Central & South America are you heading? I’m aiming to go back there next year. The goal is Honduras (I’ve already been, but Rick has not), and then Costa Rica (Rick has been, but I have not).

      I’ve heard Vermont is quite beautiful. It should be on my list, especially in the spring or autumn.

      I’ve never done a cruise. Granted, I’m not sure if it’s list-worthy for me. I’ll have to ponder that a bit more.

  4. Rick says:

    I love being factored into travel plans! W00t!

Leave a Reply

