Thankfully Awesomeness Does Not Lead To Spontaneous Combustion

While Christmas is so 2010, I feel the need to bring it up.  Why?  Well, this year was the first year in a long time that the entire Gillis clan was together.  My two older but just as immature-as-me brothers, their respective wives, my younger brother who wishes he was as awesome as me, my very patient parents1, and the next generation of awesome; that being all 5 of my nieces, and my newest nephew, were all in one room.  How this much awesome was contained in one room without leading to the following article on Boxing Day is beyond me:

Headline, December 26, 2010: Family Consumed By Awesomeness In Rare But Tragic Christmas Case Of Spontaneous Combustion. The World Mourns.

The gathering on Christmas Day also represented the first time we attempted a full-on family portrait (save for those that were taken at either of my older brothers’ weddings).  Clearly, it was time to capture the awesomeness that is our family in one epic photo.

As such, and without further ado, I present to you the 2010 family portrait of the Gillis clan.  Aidan played the part of photographer, and he managed to capture some excellent portraits.  Of course, I didn’t want to inspect all 1,5002 of them, so I provide you these three. They were taken within a very small span of time, so you get a sense of the nonsense that occurs when we get together.

The Gillis Clan. So much Awesome in one room, it's EPIC. Back row, left to right: Becky, Bernie, Haley, Me, Aidan, Shannon, Sandy. Middle row, left to right: Makenzie, Madison, Meagan. Front row, left to Right: Sydney, Mom, Ethan, Dad.

For the record, Sandy & Shannon have 2 daughters and 1 brand spanking new son (in order of appearance): Madison, Meagan, and Ethan. Bernie & Becky have 3 daughters: Makenzie, Sydney, and Haley.

It’s clear from the following portrait that the nieces and nephews are filled with Gillis awesomeness.

Madison and Haley are clearly rocking this photo. Proof that Awesome is not something you are taught; you're just born with it.

And as always, I have to make things awkward-hilarious.

Ya, I'm that cool.

1 I mean, with raising 4 boys who at one point were all less than 10, and at another point were all teenagers, you’d have to be patient.

2 I have no idea how many photos he actually took. I’m far too lazy to check. I can say with confidence that the total number ranges somewhere between 1 and 1 googol.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Beth says:

    “Googol” is my new favourite word.

    1. dangillis says:

      It is a rather large slice of awesome. Ha. Large slice. I kill me.

  2. Rick says:

    Great post! Looks like you had a great holiday with the family. 🙂

    However, the world doesn’t have to mourn. It seems that you’ve somehow come into possession of an article from the future (you know, since it’s dated December 26, 2011, despite what your caption says). You still have time to figure out how to contain so much awesomeness in one room without the spontaneous combustion. You’re a Dr. You can figure this out. Use some sort of nerdy science nerdery, like a bunch of mathematical hoopla incorporating a googol polar cardioids.

  3. dangillis says:

    Crap. I had noticed that and thought I had corrected it. Oh well, I shall leave it as it is, and see if I have the psychic abilities to foreshadow the untimely demise of me and my kin.

Leave a Reply

