The Approximately Four Pi days Of Pi-Day: Pi Day 2



As promised, I now provide you with Pi day #2 of the Approximately Four Pi Days Of Pi-Day (with Pi day #1 reprinted for your convenience).

Remember that Pi day #3 will be released March 9 at 3:14pm, and Pi day #4 will follow on March 12 at the same time.


  • On the first \frac{1}{3} Pi day of Pi-Day, Euler gave to me, |e^{i\pi}|1.
  • On the second \frac{1}{3} Pi day of Pi-Day, a Statistician gave to me, a bivariate Gaussian distribution2.
  • On the first full Pi day of Pi-Day, a Physicist gave to me, three lectures on quantum physics at the P.I.3.
  • On the fourth \frac{1}{3} Pi day of Pi-Day, a Biologist gave to me, four Fibonacci sequences4.
  • On the fifth \frac{1}{3} Pi day of Pi-Day, an Artist gave to me, five Golden Ratios5.
  • On the second full Pi day of Pi-Day, Gauss gave to me, the Pi function of 36.

1 e to the i pi absolute.

2 where f\left(\mathbf{x}|\mathbf{\mu}, \mathbf{\Sigma}\right)=\displaystyle{\frac{1}{2\pi|\mathbf{\Sigma}^{\frac{1}{2}}|}}\mathrm{exp}\left\{\left(-\frac{1}{2}(\mathbf{x}-\mathbf{\mu})^{t}\Sigma^{-1}(\mathbf{x}-\mathbf{\mu})\right)\right\}

3 The Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics.

4 click here for a link between Fibonacci numbers and Pi.

5 click here for a link between Phi and Pi.

6 i.e., \Pi(3)=3!=6.  Here \Pi(z)=\Gamma(z+1)=z\Gamma(z), where \Gamma(z) is the Gamma Function (obviously) and is defined as:

\Gamma(z)=\displaystyle{\int_{0}^{\infty}t^{z-1}e^{-t}dt},

which simplifies to \Gamma(z+1)=z! if z is an Integer.  It also simplifies to \sqrt{\pi} if z=\frac{1}{2}. w00t!


For your viewing entertainment, I offer up the East Coast version of Gangster Pi. You may recall that Dr. Beth offered up the West Coast version on World Maths Day.  Clearly Dr. Beth is far more gangster than I.

UPDATE: Rick has offered his West Coast version to this interweb Pi-off.  Well played Rick.  Well played.  He too seems far more gangster than I.

West Coast version of Gangster Pi.
Rick doing the West Coast version. Clearly the eye brow raise and the shirt make him uber gangster. Uber. Gangster.
East Coast version of Gangster Pi. Mmmm, Pi.
11 Comments Add yours

  1. Beth says:

    I eagerly await our east coast-west coast Pi gang battle.

    1. dangillis says:

      Just wait. It will be EPIC!

  2. Rick says:

    Where’s my west coast Pi? 😦

    1. dangillis says:

      I wasn’t sure if I was allowed to post it. So fixing that right now 🙂

  3. Rick says:

    And your second full Pi day of Pi-day is epic. A Gamma function? Really?? Awesome!

    1. dangillis says:

      Yup. Gamma functions are awesome!

  4. Rick says:

    Geeze… I never realized this before despite you telling me… but I am such a dork!

    1. dangillis says:

      Truer words were never spoken, Rick. Truer words. w00t!

Leave a Reply

