The Sloth Is Dead And Other Bric-A-Brac

So yesterday I posted about my incredible bout of laziness this weekend, coupled with my slacking in all things yoga, massage, and Calorie counting.  I also indicated that turning into a sloth was not good because I have been getting increasingly unbendy, and because I have somehow lost more weight; something I’ve been desperately trying to avoid.

Today I made a triumphant return to form.  That is, I managed to get on the treadmill, go to yoga, and at least chat with my massage therapist (given that I went to yoga with him, this was way easier than expected).  I also recorded my food intake, and my exercise using LoseIt.  Clearly I deserve an A+ for effort today!  w00t!

So how did I do?

  • Walked 5.88 km (~50 minutes).
  • Ran 5.79 km (30 minutes).  This represents an average speed of 11.58 km per hour.  The first 1.61 km were slow (10 minutes), followed by a faster 4.18 km in 20 minutes (or an average speed of 12.54 km per hour).  And while this wasn’t the initial distance I had intended (hello 26 km), given that I didn’t get home until 6:30ish I am happy that I managed a run at all.
  • 105 minutes spent doing Yin reduced heat yoga.

This translates to

  • Total Calories burned ~ 710.
  • Total Calories consumed ~ 2126.
  • Net Calories ~ 1416.
A summary of my Caloric intake today. Mmm, Calories.

Which means that I am still 837 Calories under my budget of 2253 Calories per day (as indicated by this screen capture of the LoseIt website)1.  And this, dear reader, is why I need to track my Calories.  I’m full.  Terribly full.  And yet I’m way off on my daily intake.  Is it any wonder why I’ve lost more weight? Gah!

Sadly, the variability of my food intake is pretty high.  For example, my Typical Breakfast normally involves a bran bar, and a bowl of oatmeal soup2.  Today it was just oatmeal soup.  Minus a bran bar means minus ~130 Calories.  Further, I question whether my dinner was actually 506 Calories.  It might have been.  I’m just not confident that it was.

Despite the variability, I still like recording the information.  At a glance I can at least get a general sense of the directionality of my intake.  Today was definitely an under day.  Something I clearly need to work on.

Now given this, just imagine how bad my Caloric deficit must be when I run for longer than 30 minutes.  My half marathon usually consumes about 1700 Calories.  Do that a few times a week and I might be looking at a serious Caloric deficit.  And this isn’t even considering longer than half marathon training runs, nor does it consider other exercise.  Obviously I must feed my neurotic desire to record more and more data about myself.  Otherwise I’m going to have a serious problem with the marathon training and run.

I may actually have to start eating buckets of lard.  Ew.

To further repent for my sloth-like behaviour over the weekend, I have also been inspired by my friend Carolyn, who posted about RunForJapan.  Check out her post here.  I’ve decided that one of my runs will also be dedicated to the cause.  I’ll keep you posted on which one – but my guess will be either Friday or Saturday’s long run.  w00t!

Alright, with that I leave you with a haiku, in honour of World Poetry Day (which was March 21, for those not in the know).  Clearly I love haiku.  If you want to read more – specifically haiku related to zombies, check out the comments for my post Follow Up III: Dissertation Haiku.  My friend Jorge of BarkingSpace.com and I have been having an epic haiku battle.  AWESOME!


 

My net calories:

food in minus exercise.

I can’t eat enough.



1 This budget is set so that I maintain a weight of 145 lbs.

2 I call it oatmeal soup because my oatmeal is very thin. To the point of being hot water with floating oats in it. The regular thickened oatmeal is too hard on my stupid stomach right now. The soup typically contains 1/4 cup of oatmeal, 1.5 cups of water or more (basically I fill the bowl with water), 1 tbsp of natural peanut butter (no salt or sugar added), 1 tbsp of honey, and 2 tbsp of home-made trail mix (which consists of almonds, pecans, raisins, dates, cashews, figs, and unsweetened shredded coconut). I might also add some raspberries if I have them on hand.  A recipe for deliciousness.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Carolyn says:

    Wow…your oatmeal is so fancy!

    I’ve occasionally had to rely on those gross Ensure drinks. =P Disgusting but easy calories, and slightly less disgusting than buckets o’ lard (emphasis on slightly).

    Thanks for spreading Run for Japan around!!

    1. dangillis says:

      I’m all about fancy oatmeal.

      I think the ensure drinks are made with milk, so I have to avoid those. I try to just consume extra lattes 🙂

      I’m thinking I’m going to do the Run for Japan on the weekend. Maybe the 26k that I was supposed to do this past weekend.

  2. lara says:

    Hey Dan,
    If you didn’t postpone your surgery and postponed your marathon instead this blog entry would be a moot point. There will always be other marathons but there is only one Dan. That is all.

    1. dangillis says:

      Agreed. But given that I’ve put in so much effort already with my training, I’m not willing to give it up. The hernia isn’t going to kill me, so I’m not willing to admit defeat. I’m bullheaded like that. I just have to learn to work around it.

      If however the hernia does kill me, feel free to return to this post and write “I told you so”, because I’ll surely deserve it.

      Oh, and if I do die because of the hernia, I fully expect one wicked ass funeral party.

  3. Rebecca says:

    Agreed. It’s not the hernia that’ll kill you, it’ll be the anorexia that it brings on. I’m just sayin’ is all.

    In other news: read this then eat a sandwich.
    http://www.explosm.net/comics/2353/

Leave a Reply

