Snuggling With Elliot: 1 Month Later

One month ago today, my family of one grew to a family of two.  That is, my friend Jamie dropped off Elliot, his loyal and trusted ~2 year old cat.  Elliot moved in with me because Jamie was in the process of moving out of his old apartment and into some schwanky new digs.  Sadly, he couldn’t bring Elliot along for the ride (described here).  And as sad as it was for Jamie, it’s been awesome for me (sorry Jamie).  Since then, I can confidently write that Elliot has adopted me, and that he pretty much thinks that he owns the house.  Cats are amazing that way.

Anyway, I realized on Friday or Saturday that as of today, Elliot and I have lived together for a month. Time clearly flies. I figured what better way to celebrate than with a bunch of pictures that I’ve snapped.  Elliot figured the best way to celebrate would be to throw up on the tile in the kitchen1.  I’m guessing the excitement of realizing he’s been here for a month was just too much for the little guy to handle.  I know how you feel little buddy.  I know how you feel.

So how has having a cat changed my world? Apart from dealing with feedings and treats, cat fur everywhere, and the dreaded litter box, it has been awesome. Elliot is unbelievably friendly, and cuddly (as the pictures indicate), and licky. He’s especially licky after I run, but I’m sure that just has to do with all the salt on my body. Honestly though, he has made me slow down at least on the weekends. And late nights. Pretty much at all times when I should be slowing down. Between plopping down next to me, curling up in my arms, laying on my chest or computer, or pretty much nuzzling his head into the crook of my neck or armpit, I can’t help but stop what I’m doing and enjoy the epic cuteness that is Elliot. When someone this cute throws himself at you, one is inclined to respond.

Additionally, according to RealAge, having a pet (such as a cat) lowers my stress and thus reduces my real age. As it stands right now, my real age is 19.7. W00t! Check out the website if you want to calculate your real age. It’s pretty fun, and quite informative.

Regardless of the benefits Elliot brings to my world, I can honestly say that I’m completely in love with him. How can you not be? He’s so freaking cute!

Oh, and before you go commenting on how I’ve turned into that guy – you know, the one who takes pictures of his cat, posts pictures of his cat, probably talks incessantly about his cat – be aware that I’m already very cognizant of this fact, and am actively seeking therapy.  It’s like I’ve turned into a *gasp* parent.  Yikes!


1 Added bonus – Sean cleaned up the mess. Thanks Sean! 1000 extra interweb points to you.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Beth says:

    I came here from my RSS reader because I had something profound and important to comment on, but I now can’t for the life of me remember what it was.

    In other news, I’m trying to do the Real Age test, but the website is b0rked. Stupid website.

  2. Kat says:

    Kitty!!! He’s so sweet 🙂

    I’m not a fan of Dr. Oz so I’m immediately skeptical of Real Age. According to Real Age, I’m 9 months younger (31.3). Such nonsense. Apparently because I don’t eat whole grains and fruit, that makes me old. This is not Paleo friendly 🙂

    1. dangillis says:

      No, it’s definitely not Paleo friendly. I mean, I like that the site encourages exercise, and eating a relatively healthy diet devoid of fatty fried crap (and I’m not referring to the good fats that Paleo wouldn’t shy away from), processed foods, and the like. I also like that the site makes you think about your health in a proactive type of way (at least it does for me) instead of retroactively when you are already sick. Clearly I’m not 19. But it is fun to pretend 🙂

  3. Kat says:

    LOL, clearly I was grumpy when I got up this morning. Of course it’s for pretend, silly me for getting all worked up 🙂 I hadn’t had my morning bacon and coffee with coconut milk.

    *walks away in hysterical shame*

    1. dangillis says:

      Oh my god – why have I not had coffee with coconut milk yet? I remember reading about it – I think on your blog – or maybe you mentioned it to me on Facebook – and then I forgot. How could I forget something that sounds so incredibly epic. Epic I says!

      Also, I didn’t get the sense that you were grumpy. If that is you being grumpy, then you are far too nice. LOL.

Leave a Reply

