The Sloth Is Dead And Other Bric-A-Brac: An Update

 

The sloth is dead. Or is he?

Just over a week ago I commented on my downward spiral into the pass-out-on-the-couch, do-nothing-and-whine-about-it world-o-fun that is Sloth.  Truly I was so full of seven-deadly-sinfulness, that Kevin Spacey‘s John Doe would surely have considered replacing his original drug dealing victim with me1.  Or not.

 

Regardless, one of my goals last week was to get back on my regular wagon; walking, running, biking (I wish – stupid return of winter), yoga, and recording my food intake.  The former activities were required simply to continue my preparations for the upcoming full marathon in May; item #105 on my Not-So-Bucket-List list. The latter was to prevent any further weight loss due to my stupid, stupid hiatal hernia. Hiatal hernias being the stupidest of all hernias.

As promised, I’ve decided to update you, dear readers, on my progress. Mainly this serves as a way to ensure that I am accountable for what I have or have not done. So here goes.

Since March 21st, 2011 (up to and including March 30th, 2011) my results are:

  • running ~12.00km (gah – that is TERRIBLE)
  • walking ~48.00km (not bad, but not good either)
  • biking ~0.00km (stupid winter – I shake my fist at thee)
  • yoga ~320min (not bad, but much improvement needed)

My average net daily Caloric intake was 1617.8, although I didn’t actually record my Calories every day.  Gah!  Super fail.  Regardless, the average compares to my required value of 2253 Calories (which would maintain my weight at 145lbs; I am however not 145lbs – I am 137lbs, which clearly requires fewer Calories to maintain, assuming I have not lost further weight.  I should consider purchasing a scale).  This means on average, I was under by 635.2 Calories per day.  And that’s with as little exercise as I’ve been doing.  Not good.  Not good at all.  How am I supposed to become a buff young stud if I can’t eat enough?  LOL.  I’m not sure what is funniest about the last question: buff?  young?  stud?  Or the ridiculous combination of all of these – buff young stud – to describe myself?  Hilarious.

Additionally, I spent a total of 43 hr 12 min sleeping over the course of the 10 days between March 21 and March 30, which gives me an average of 4 hr 20 min of sleep per night.  Hmm, I have to work on that too.

Anyway, while things have improved slightly, and I’m not the lay-about that I was, I’m still not satisfied with the result.  Much work to do.  Clearly.


1 If you have no idea what I’m talking about, see the move se7en, with Brad Pitt, Morgan Freeman, Gwyneth Paltrow, and Kevin Spacey. If you like messed up movies, you are sure to love this.

Leave a Reply

