My Everything Hurts; But Especially My Everything Hurts.

A few weeks ago (on March 21st to be exact), my most awesome friend Carolyn informed me of an online movement called Run For Japan.  The purpose of this movement is twofold: 1) to recruit people from around the world to attempt to run 24,901 miles (the distance around the earth) in 28 days, and 2) to raise money to support a country and people who have been devastated by the March 11th 9.0 earthquake and subsequent tsunami.  Given that I love running, it seemed like something that I should and had to take part in.  And after today, I can officially say that I have contributed in a rather painful way to this awesome cause, but more on that later.  If you are a runner, this is a great way to feel like you are doing something for people who live on the other side of the world.  It raises awareness (although who doesn’t know about the earthquake and tsunami?), and much-needed dollars.  In a nutshell the idea is to dedicate your next run to Japan, and then donate an equal (or greater) number of dollars.  I’m sure if you wanted to walk or bike, that would be okay too.  Ultimately my contribution isn’t really much in the grand scheme of things, but every little bit helps.  Especially when everyone does it.  So go and do it.  It’s good for you.

Anyway, I was hoping to put in a 30k run today as part of my marathon training, but had to stop at 25k.  The run started out great, but I had to take a break around 16k to quickly grab a tablespoon of peanut butter and a tablespoon of honey for some extra energy.  Sadly, the pause was a bit too long, and my body started tightening up; likely a result of dehydration, electrolyte loss, low energy, and being a generally unbendy person if I haven’t put in my yoga time (which, sadly, I didn’t do enough of this morning).  Thankfully, when I jumped back on the treadmill and despite the tightening muscles, I was able to post a personal best half marathon – 1hr 49min.

But then my right hip decided it wasn’t happy.  And that quickly spread to my right knee and calf.  I was hoping it was just a twitch or twinge that would go away with continued running – something that usually occurs.  But not this time.  I could tell my body had hit a point where it needed to stop.  I’ve learned enough to know that a screaming hip and a screaming knee shouldn’t be ignored for long.  Regardless, I pushed through another 4k hoping it would stop, but ultimately I was forced to walk a major portion of the last few kilometres.  Gah – stupid body.

My ouchy.

Despite this little setback, I still have about 7 weeks of training until the big day so I’m not freaking out as of yet.  Don’t get me wrong, the idea of running a marathon still makes me a little throw-uppy, but I’m confident that I can do it.  It might not be pretty, but somehow it will happen.

During my hour of post-run stretching I noticed something gross.  Specifically, I have developed a rather nasty looking blood blister under one of my toenails.  I am still amazed at what my body will endure while I run, and yet I will have no idea that it’s happening when it’s happening.  In this case, I felt nothing that would suggest that I’d be developing this disgusting running side-effect.  And really, it doesn’t hurt all that much.  But seriously body, what the what?

Absolut icing.

When I first started running years ago, I also learned of the intense joy that comes with longer runs.  That being the joy of chafing.  If you’ve ever felt the joy that are chafed nipples, you’ll know what I’m talking about.  If you’ve ever felt the joy of nipples that were so chafed, they bled, well, that’s an altogether different kind of awesome.  The best part comes when the soap of one’s first shower after a run hits the area in question.  How does one describe a burning fire so intense that it takes your breath away?  A pain that warrants a scream, but allows only a whimper which thankfully is muffled by the sound of the pouring water, which also by the grace of the FSM hides the single tear that rolls down your cheek?  Whatever its name, that’s the pain that bleeding chafed nipples brings.  You don’t want to experience it.  Thankfully, with the loss of my moobs1 I haven’t experienced that for a very long while.

Given the pain in my hip, knee and calf, I decided I should probably ice after stretching.  Unfortunately, I was fresh out of Pice cubes2.  So, I had to use the next best thing.  Clearly the next best thing was a 26er of Absolut Vodka that I’ve had chilling in my freezer for an extended period.  While it wasn’t as good as a bag full of Pice cubes, it was pretty darn effective.  Booze, is there anything it can’t do?

In other news, the WWF Canada CN Tower climb is fast approaching.  In fact, it is only 12 days away.  At post time, I have managed to raise $1427.80 of the $1776.00 I’m hoping to raise (~80.39% of my goal).  If you recall, the goal was to raise $1 for each stair of the tower I need to climb.  If you haven’t donated yet and would like to, simply click here and fill in the necessary details.  To those that have already donated, I offer a huge thanks, and I hope not to disappoint you.  That is, my other goal is to reach the last step in under 19 minutes.  Yikes!

Speaking of math (ha, we so weren’t speaking of math), did you remember that it is Mathematics Awareness Month?  I hope so, because math rocks in ways that I can’t even begin to describe.  To celebrate today, I offer you a simple analysis of my run (mainly because I’m just a wee bit tired and it’s about all I can come up with to tie running and Mathematics Awareness Month together).

  • Total distance/time = 24.94km/2hr 29min 39sec (which translates to 6min per km – boo).
  • Distance of half marathon/time = 21.10km/1hr 49min 00sec (a respectable 5min 10sec per km).
  • Total Calories burned = ~1683, or about 77% of my daily Caloric requirement.
  • Calories burned per kilometer = 67.48.
  • Full marathon distance = 42.20km.
  • Projected marathon time (assuming a constant 5min 30sec per km) = 232.10min = 3hr 52min.
  • Projected Calories burned = 42.20km * 67.48 Calores per km = 2847.74.  Um, I think I’m going to need to eat more.

1 Also known as man boobs.

2 Pice are ice cubes made with my fancy-pants pi ice-cube tray (a gift from one Dr. Beth and her sister Nancy).  That is, they are Pi ice cubes or Pice cubes.


8 Comments Add yours

  1. Carolyn says:

    Ouch. 1:49 is a great half time, though. I’m doing my Japan run today…outside!! Frozen vodka bottle icing to follow.

    1. dangillis says:

      Yay frozen vodka bottle. I went for a massage today, and I am feeling much better. Thankfully my massage therapist is amazing and saw me at his home. He rocks.

  2. Beth says:

    The only thing better than booze would be booze filled with Pice cubes!

    As for chafing, I discovered the joy that is Body Glide. My arm band for iPhone chafes the hell out of my arm (in the summer anyway – right now it goes over the jacket sleeve, so it’s fine), but since I started lubing my body up with the Body Glide, it’s all good. Also, “Body Glide” sounds dirty!

    1. dangillis says:

      Agreed. Booze + Pice cubes = Awesome.

      Body Glide does sound dirty. I haven’t had any chafing issues since the loss of the moobs, so I’m hopeful that it stays that way. Of course, if that changes I’ll be sure to lube myself up. 😀

  3. Jorge says:

    Wow,

    All this talk of “body glide” is making me…er…awkward…

Leave a Reply

