It Hurts So Good

As I mentioned yesterday, my everything hurts; the result of a stupid decision to continue running after a Calorie break at the 16km mark of what turned out to be a 25km run.  Not to say that running after the break was a bad idea on its own.  But running after a break where I hadn’t stretched and then deciding to pick up at the exact same pace at which I had ended – that was dumb.  And I mean not just dumb, but dumb on such an epic level that one might wonder how someone such as myself managed to earn a Ph.D. in the first place.  Clearly I’m not always the brightest bulb.  In fact, I have many stories (read evidence) that would suggest that I am rarely, if ever, the brightest bulb.  But those are stories for another day (and by another day, I mean a time when you pull them out of me by plying me with copious amounts of booze-y goodness).

That's Patrick, working on someone that isn't me.

Thankfully, I have the most awesomely awesome massage therapist on the face of the earth.  Patrick Stiles (RMT, SMT) is the best thing to hit one’s sore and aching muscles since the discovery of aspirin, Demerol, or perhaps Flintstones Chewable Morphine1.  In one session, he had me feeling so much better – to the point where I might actually go for another run this eve.  I had intended to give myself another day recovery, and likely will still opt to do so in order to hit up yoga instead, but I feel that good.  Clearly, Patrick is a miracle worker.  Yesterday it hurt simply to walk down a hill.  Today, it’s like nothing ever happened.  Amazing.  Would that I could have Patrick treat me after every single run.  Anyway, I simply wanted to say to Patrick – THANK YOU SO MUCH!  You are the best.

However, folks, please don’t think that this is a gentle massage.  It’s not – at least not for me.  It generally hurts; some times a lot.  But the pain is so worth the gain.  For those of you that live in the area and are in need of a massage, I highly recommend Patrick.  Go – you won’t be disappointed.

In other news, today is the 4th day of the month-long celebration that is Mathematics Awareness Month.  For your math-y pleasure, I bring to you the following:

Samurai Sudoku!  Crazy stuff, but most entertaining; especially if you enjoy the challenge of standard Sudoku.  Click here for more.  Note – I did not create this board.  I just enjoy playing them 🙂


1 Oh how I wish they existed.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Beth says:

    What is an SMT?

    1. dangillis says:

      I believe it stands for Sports Massage Therapist. Or Sexy Massage Therapist. Or perhaps Super Massage Therapist. I’ll ask Patrick. I’m sure he’d be happy with any of these.

  2. Beth says:

    I”m thinking it has to be Sexy Massage Therapist. Sexy long time!

  3. Pingback: Hurts So Good

Leave a Reply

