The Silence Of The Ducks

As I mentioned previously, I celebrated my 1st Ph.D.-versary on April 8.  To celebrate, I ventured over to Gerarda & Alan’s along with Steph, who had travelled into Guelph for the occasion.  It was, in essence, a gathering of The Doctors.   You probably imagine that with this much nerdery in one room, the conversation would focus on all things statistics.  But that was not the case.  While I am sure that we did talk about statistics it didn’t dominate the conversation.  I mean, we love statistics, but we also have other interests 🙂

The best part of the eve was that we were celebrating not just my Ph.D.-versary, and not just my shiny new Ass Prof job, but also Steph’s shiny new job, and Gerarda’s shiny new grant.  It was as if the planets aligned just right so that all of these things would happen around the same time.  Epic!  Clearly a little bubbly was in order.

We picked up dinner from the Diana Downtown, which if you know me you will know is one of my favourite places to eat in Guelph.  That is where Steph and I held our Ph.D. prom last June, which I should probably write about at some point.  Regardless, the food is always fantastic.  I ordered, as usual, the Medallions of Lamb.  Once my stupid stomach is fixed, I’m going to be going back to my other favourite dish: Lamb Vindaloo.  So hot and spicy, but oh so good in my belly.

Not the best photo, but the mash of mallard near the bottom right corner is actually 4 ducks.

Our dinner was interrupted at some point by some ruckus in the backyard.  Specifically, two male ducks had invaded the pond that had been home to a pair presumably for raising a family.  The two male ducks that invaded apparently saw the female and decided they wanted in on that action.  It was insane.  There were ducks all over the place.  The male of the pair was doing his best to fight off the other two, and eventually managed to do so.  But not before they both jumped on the female.  The scariest part of the situation was that the males kept forcing the female under the water.  We were worried that she might not survive the attack.  Thankfully, both the male and female of the original pair managed to survive to fight another day.  The invading males were driven off; leaving the pair to clean themselves off, and shake off the invasion that had just occurred.  It really was something to see.  I’m not sure if this is normal duck behaviour, but it looked pretty ferocious.

Dinner was followed with a movie (127 hours – see it if you haven’t), and of course, several drinks.  Needless to say, it was a late night filled with lots of laughter, good food, and clearly good friends.  A most excellent way to celebrate my 1st Ph.D.-versary.


One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

