I Have A Problem…

…And admitting it is the first step to solving it, right?  Well, my problem is not so much that I am a chocoholic – don’t get me wrong, I am a chocoholic, and proud of it – but I am a chocoholic that sometimes suffers from indecision1.  Gasp!

Indecision hit me several nights ago.  After my fancy-pants dinner (read a can of tuna and some toast), I had a craving for something of the chocolate persuasion.  Thankfully, I am generally prepared for such an event.  But my a boy scout is always prepared attitude is at times also a curse.  This occasion was such a case.  When I opened my chocolate cupboard2, I had no idea which chocolate would sate me.

So much deliciousness, so little time.

To give you an idea of the decision I faced, I took a picture of my options.  Clearly, this was a decision with such delicious results that it couldn’t be made lightly, or alone.  Thankfully, Elliot was close by and decided to inspect the options as well.  After sniffing around, he seemed fixated on the Sarotti Dark Chocolate with Orange.  Recognizing that he must know something that I didn’t, and given my state of indecision, I deferred to his selection.

I wasn’t disappointed.  A square was all that I needed to satiate the voice in my head that could only be quieted with dark chocolate.  And oh what a square.  Silky, smooth, with just a hint of orange and that familiar slightly bitter, slightly sweet dark chocolate taste.  Delicious.  Elliot chose well.  Granted, with the available options, he really couldn’t make a bad choice.


1 Further evidence of my chocoholism can be found in the following picture. Here, Dr. Beth and I are enjoying the fruits of our labour.  Specifically, the creation of chocolate vodka; also known as liquid chocolatey deliciousness.

Drinking chocolate vodka with Dr. Beth. So freaking delicious.

2 Yes, I have a cupboard specifically for chocolate. I can taste your jealousy.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Beth says:

    I too am a chocoholic – a veritable chocolate snob, in fact. But personally, I’m not a fan of Lindt, which I see makes up a major part of your chocolate collection. I usually stick to our local chocolatiers – like Denman Island chocolate. So freaking delicious. Or Bernard Callebaut. I would punch a dolphin the face for Callebaut chocolate.

    1. dangillis says:

      Mmmm, Lindt. The uber dark kind. Delicious. Although, I won’t lie – I’ve had better for sure. You know, like the little bites-o-heaven that I’ve had while wandering the chololateries in France. Le sigh.

Leave a Reply

