Happy High Five Day Eve

Are you as excited about tomorrow as I am?  I’m sure you are.  I mean, tomorrow is the big day.  What is the big day? you ask.  It’s only the hand slapping-est day in the history of all days; it’s National High Five Day.

According to the interwebs and the powers that be, International High Five Day is held on the third Thursday of April. This year, that date just so happens to be tomorrow: Thursday, April 21, 2011.  And that dear readers, makes today International High Five Day Eve!  w00t!

What exactly does that mean?  It means that today is the day that you should be preparing yourselves for the madness that is tomorrow.  You could prepare by going for a hand massage, by getting a manicure, or perhaps by soaking your hands in Palmolive so that they are extra soft.  Whatever you do, just get those palms and digits ready for the highest and five-i-est day of the year.

Even more awesome than the fact that tomorrow is High Five Day is the fact that it is the 10th year that this holiday has been celebrated.  That deserves a high five!  More specifically, it deserves a Flying Double High Five, since 2 fives make 10.  w00t!

High Five Rick!

Of course, I realize that not everyone likes high fives.  My friend Rick comes to mind.  Last year I made sure to try to include him in the fun by sending him this picture (as he doesn’t live close enough to actually high five in person).

But a picture didn’t seem to be enough.  At least, not one picture.  To remedy this, I asked all of the people I knew to send Rick an e-high five.  I’ve included some of those photos below.  My favourite is the high four and a half.  Brilliant!

The best part of this particular high five is that the high fiver four and a half-er doesnt even know Rick. High Five day just brings out the best in everyone 😀
High Five from a Doctor!

Anyway, I hope you have a very restful and happy High Five Day Eve.  Tomorrow is bound to be full of awesome.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. If you’re excited about high five day then you’re going to love this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EQXqEAYHudQ It’s from a show I used to watch in the late 80’s early 90’s called Almost Live based in Seattle. Enjoy.

    1. dangillis says:

      Wow that was AWESOME. Thanks for sharing that gem with me.

  2. Rick says:

    Worst. Ever. Has it been a whole year already?? This ‘holiday’ occurs way too often.

    1. dangillis says:

      You love it. But don’t worry – today is just High Five Day Eve. Tomorrow is the big event. w00t!

  3. Beth says:

    I’m celebrating High Five Day Eve by getting a massage this evening. I need every muscle in my body to be fully relaxed in preparation for the big day!

    Tomorrow afternoon I have a Public Health planning meeting which is usually 3 directors plus the 3 of us on the “intelligence team” (read: data and evidence type peeps). But the 2 other intelligence people are away on holidays (Mexico & Hawaai, those bastards), so tomorrow’s meeting has been dubbed “Beth and the Directors.” I think I might have to make the directors all give me high fives!

    1. Beth says:

      Apparently I was so exited about High Five Day, I couldn’t spell Hawaii.

Leave a Reply

