Calgary Adventure: Day 4

I'm all class.

The post below was intended to be my original post for today. You know, just in case I had in fact been eaten by a Bear-o-dactyl. I can assure you, that has not been my fate. At least, not yet.  Anywho…

Rick and I made our way to Revelstoke yesterday. The drive through the mountains was breathtaking.  And I have to thank Rick about a million times for driving the entire way.  I mean, not having a license naturally means that I can’t really contribute to the driving portion of the trip, other than to be the most charming and awesome navigator/passenger that I can be.  Clearly I have that job nailed.

A quick snack at Conservations, plus some camera trickery thanks to Instagram.

As I mentioned, the drive through the mountains was amazing.  The scenery was breathtaking.  And of course, the company didn’t hurt either.  We made several stops on the way; whenever nature called or our need for food outweighed our need to just get there.  We also stopped at the border between Alberta and British Columbia so that I could get the traditional rock star photo you see to the left.  I’m sure passing cars were wondering what I was up to.  Clearly the end result was worth it.  And, with that rock star pose, I was able to cross off items #127 and #167 from my Not-So-Bucket-List list.  w00t!

Our home base in Revelstoke was the Cheeky Beaver Chalet Bed & Breakfast.  Lisa, the very friendly owner of the chalet, has been in the process of upgrading the house over the last few weeks, so the breakfast part was not available during our stay.  But really, we didn’t care so long as we had a place to sleep.  The room was spacious, clean, and quite comfortable, save for some chilly temperatures the first night.  Between the chills, my cold, and a train that rattled by late in the night, I sadly didn’t get the great sleep that this place offers and suggests with its cozy exterior and very welcoming interior.  To say that I woke up in the morning feeling old is an understatement.  My hips, shoulders and pretty much everything else were stiff, and achey.  Nothing a hot shower, a steaming hot cup of coffee, and the promise of a beautiful day filled with adventure couldn’t fix.

The Cheeky Beaver Chalet

But I’m getting ahead of myself.  After we arrived in Revelstoke, we wandered around town, stopping in at Conversations for a latte and a snack.  We were both tired, Rick likely more than I – what with his having driven the entire way from Calgary – so we vegged for a while in the coffee shop.  Once we were sated, we continued our walk, picked up a nice Gewurztraminer for dinner, and then headed back to the house for a nap.

Rejuvenated, we made our way down the street to where Steve and Karen were staying.  They had invited us over for dinner.  And what an awesome dinner.  Green and red curries, nachos, wine, and various rum beverages, served up next to the fireplace of course.  We chatted most of the eve, and then ventured back to the Cheeky Beaver for bed, and what would be (as previously described) a terrible sleep.

Anyway, we are off on our snowshoeing adventure now.  The temperature is a very respectable and t-shirt wearing 15C, the sky is clear, and the mountains so picturesque that I can’t even begin to describe them.  You know you are jealous.

Happy Easter all y’all.


Mountains = AWESOME in rocky snow capped form.

Dan is currently adventuring, digging out of an avalanche, or possibly being eaten by a Bear-o-dactyl.  

Please check back tomorrow for further information.  

The Bear-o-dactyl. More ferocious and awesome than a bear and a pterodactyl combined. Beware the Bear-o-dactyl. Image via theoatmeal.com.



11 Comments Add yours

  1. Carolyn says:

    No bear-o-dactyl incidents, no face-smashing…it’s an Easter miracle! JC be praised.

    1. dangillis says:

      Another Easter Miracle:

      – Rick seeing long horned sheep for the first time since he’s been in Calgary (and even more miracle-y, he mentioned that morning that he still hadn’t seen them). Then, on our drive, voila – long horned sheep walking alongside the road.

  2. Beth says:

    You did my favourite thing to do when in Calgary – leave and immediately drive to British Columbia!

    As Sarah mentioned on The Twitter, we once spent an Easter in the glorious Rocky Mountains. So freaking unbelievably beautiful there!

    1. dangillis says:

      It was awesome. I can’t wait to travel back for more adventuring. Of course, I just like adventuring. Not sure if you know that about me or not 🙂

Leave a Reply

