Calgary Adventure: Day 5

At Kill the Banker run in Revelstoke

Rick and I just arrived in Calgary after a rather relaxing, yet adventure filled weekend in Revelstoke, British Columbia with Karen & Steve, and Jen & Deo.  The weekend was awesome.

When last I left you I was heading out to try out snowshoeing for the first time in probably 25 or more years.  Crazy.  The first and only time I had ever snowshoed was back in the old-time-y days of elementary school (probably grade 1), when the snowshoes were the old-time-y variety.  That is to say, they were the traditional First Nations variety.  And while they have been shown to be excessively functional, they were a bit beyond me at the time.  That might have been due to the fact that they were each about as big as me.  I was a rather small kid.  Shocking, I know.

The new-time-y snowshoes that Rick and I used for our hike were borrowed from one of his friends.  And they turned out to be far easier to use than what I remembered from my first experience.  We trekked about 5km on a day that was t-shirt appropriate.  Of course, being all boy-scout-like, we had prepared for winter conditions; long johns, heavy sweaters, scarves, and the like.  None of this was needed.  The hike was beautiful.  The air was clear and the sky was almost completely devoid of cloud cover.  So much so, that I ended up burning a bit of my face.

Being the adventuring sort, we attempted several jump shots while wearing the snowshoes.  Not an easy task, but I think the results speak for themselves.  I also managed (after a failed first attempt) to do a headstand in the snowshoes.  The awkward part was getting up with the snowshoes on.  Actually, the awkward part was staying up with the snowshoes on, as my first attempt had me landing on my back.  But not to worry folks, stitches were not required in the making of this adventure.

After snowshoeing, we headed to the ski hills.  Not to ski (as there was not enough time), but to take the gondola up the hill for the view.  And what a view; given the conditions we could see for miles.  We also were able to view the para-skiers who were enjoying the thermals of the day.  I think I want to try para-skiing.  No, let me rephrase that.  I am going to try para-skiing.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Rick, Karen, Deo and I collected Steve and Jen at the bottom of the ski hill and the 6 of us sat in the parking lot for about half an hour or so enjoying the sun, the fresh air, and a few beers that Steve and Jen had brought with them for just such an occasion.  All together, an epic start to the day.

We made our way back to town, and prepared for the hot tub at the nearby water park.  While we weren’t overly tired from the snowshoeing and such, we were still tired from lack of sleep the night before.  As such, the hot tub, sauna, and steam room were my favourite places.  I really think I need to get a hot tub.  So hot and so good for my muscles.  I wonder if I could write it off as a medical expense?

Following the water park, we headed back to the Cheeky Beaver to clean up and then headed to the Village Idiot for dinner.  The dinner was good, but oh so filling.  Granted, it might have been the 2 beers that filled me up.  Regardless, the food was tasty, the company was awesome, and I was full of beer after an amazing day of hiking/snowshoeing, gondola riding, picture-taking, and hot tubbing.  It really couldn’t get any better than that.

Today we slept in a little, packed up the car, had breakfast with Steve, Karen, Jen and Deo, and then started our trek back to Calgary.  Of course we had to stop for a few photos here and there.  We also stopped in Canmore to have dinner at the Wild Orchid Asian Bistro.  SUSHI DELICIOUSNESS.  I forget what my plate was called – shunto shanko – or something like that – but it was delicious.  It was meant to represent the 4 seasons.  It included scallops, tuna, and salmon.  So freaking tasty.  I paired it with a very nice mocktail made of pineapple juice and sprite.  Very tasty.

Anyway, now we are back at Rick’s place.  Everything is packed and I’m prepped to make my way back to Toronto in the morning.  This sucks.  I hate leaving adventure behind.  Ah well, until next time adventure, until next time for sure.

But don’t worry folks, next time won’t be too long from now 😀


4 Comments Add yours

  1. Beth says:

    Love, love, love the jump shots! Also, when I saw the corpse shot immediately after the jump shots, I thought that was supposed to be an “after” photo – like, doing the jump in snowshoes is OK, but landing it ends in a face plant!

    1. dangillis says:

      LOL. I hadn’t thought that, but it does suggest that.

      Honestly, it was so warm and I was so hot in my extra sexy long johns, that diving face first into the snow was quite refreshing. Refreshing to the max. And stuff.

Leave a Reply

