The Tastiest Mistake I’ve Ever Made

Tasty deliciousness

Despite the fact that I try to be as accurate as possible here at Consumed by Wanderlust, every now and then something slips through the cracks.  And when that happens, I try to make every effort to inform you, the reader, of said crack-slippages.

Just the other day, I was informed that something slipped through the proverbial cracks.  I generally kick myself for mistakes, omissions, or suchlike, but in this case, I couldn’t have been happier about the mistake.

Why is that? you ask.  Well it turns out that this particular oversight on my part is probably the tastiest mistake I’ve ever made.  It turns out that I wasn’t the first to declare a particular date as International Gin & Tonic Day.  In fact, I wasn’t the first by almost a year!

To best describe the situation, see the comment that was posted to my blog just the other day:

Hi!

I am afraid you are misinformed about International Gin and Tonic Day. It has in fact been celebrated on May 9th every year since 2009, when we inaugurated this now widespread Anglo-Swedish tradition. See our blog dated May 2009 –http://kajhusfem.blogg.se/2009/may/

Richard

If you take the time to go to Richard’s blog, you’ll probably have to translate it first.  Regardless, there it is in print – International Gin & Tonic Day is actually to be celebrated TODAY – May 9th.  So, for those of you that missed the G&T day that I celebrated on April 29th, now is your chance to join in on the fun.

Image via flickr

I love that someone else had the idea to create such an epic and awesome day.  I also love that it can officially be considered international.  And I also love, love, love that it is a now widespread Anglo-Swedish tradition.  Because G&Ts really are that good.

But what, you might ask, am I going to do with April 29th, now that G&T day has been correctly assigned to May 9?

Well, not being one to cry over spilled milk (because as we all know, I’m not a fan of milk to begin with), I’ve decided to make a Gin & Tonic out of the lemons that life just handed me.  That is, I’m going to celebrate both days of course.  It’s really the responsible thing to do.

So, let it be known from this day forward that

International Gin & Tonic Day is May 9th,

and

International Gin & Tonic Day is Almost Here Day is April 29th.

Make sure to update to your calendars.  I’ve updated the Calendar of Nerdidays already.


7 Comments Add yours

  1. I shall have to re-celebrate tonight! Thanks for the info, Dan.

  2. Rick says:

    Fantastic! I missed the first round, and now I can celebrate in spirit for the second round! (Because sadly, I won’t actually have a gin and tonic today… :S). I know, crazy right?

    1. dangillis says:

      You can celebrate with P90X because that is essentially the same. Wait, no. I’m lying. It’s so NOT THE SAME. However, if you have a G&T within 10 days, I think the gods of G&T will decide not to strike you down. They’re generally pretty relaxed given their penchant for drinking G&Ts on a regular basis, and their overall lackadaisical approach to smiting.

  3. Beth says:

    This posting exemplifies so many of the things I love about you, Dr. Dan! First -you are so positive. Instead of being upset that someone scooped you on G&T day, you happily amend your day to the awesomely named “International Gin & Tonic Day is Almost Here Day.” Second – you have the attitude of a true scientist. A lesser man would have ignored the evidence before them, not published it as you have done here. Kudos to you. You should have another G&T to celebrate your awesomeness!

    1. dangillis says:

      Thanks Dr. Beth. I Negative always. Ha – math jokes – I kill me.

      I might have been upset about this if this were the basis of my PhD dissertation (and you know, I was scooped just prior to defending). However, I can’t honestly fault someone else for having an epic idea. Especially one so obviously tasty.

      I didn’t have an extra G&T last night, but I will have one later this week in celebration 🙂

    2. dangillis says:

      Further,

      YAY SCIENCE!

Leave a Reply

