Introducing The Ass Prof Blog

So it’s official folks.  Today I launch my newest blog.  Say what?

That’s correct; I’ve started yet another blog.  But it’s not going to be quite the same as Consumed By Wanderlust.  It will still be epic and awesome and full of the nerdy goodness that you’ve come to expect here, but it will be different.  That is to say, it will represent my professional side.  It will be my professional blog.  The blog I will present as Assistant Professor of Statistics in the School of Computer Science at the University of Guelph.

Why would I want the responsibility of another blog? you ask.  Well, as much as I enjoy writing Consumed By Wanderlust, the posts here are on the less professional side.  That is to say, I don’t think my students or colleagues necessarily need to know about my travels and various adventures.  This isn’t to say that I don’t share my wanderings and such with them, because I absolutely do, but I felt it necessary to have a blog devoted to my research, my courses, and my academic pursuits.  Clearly, there will be a bit of overlap between the two blogs, but the goal is to provide unique material in both.

Anyway, my new blog is simply titled:

daniel gillisAssistant Professor of Statistics, School of Computer Science, University of Guelph

Okay, so the name isn’t as flashy as Consumed By Wanderlust, and in all honesty it’s anything but simple, but it gets to the point.  I hope you’ll take the time to check it out.  I will almost surely post less frequently there, and the posts will likely be related to interesting problems that I come across during my research or while teaching my courses.  Regardless, it hopefully will provide you with a bit of mathematical and statistical insight beyond that which has been, and will be, presented here.

Check it out.  I hope you like it 🙂

Leave a Reply

