It’s New, It’s Shiny, It’s Pure Awesome. It’s Also Rapture Proof.

So Saturday was supposed to be the end of the world, at least according to Harold Camping and several thousand of his followers. Given that everyone I know is still here, and things seems to be pretty much the status quo, I’m guessing the rapture didn’t happen. Or perhaps it did, and everyone I know is simply unworthy of the rapture. I doubt that is the case, because I have a strict rule of surrounding myself with awesome. But I digress.

Given that the weather was amazingly awesome on Saturday (the calm before the rapture), I ventured as I do most Saturdays to the market with my friend Manon. This always includes a visit to either With the Grain, or to Eggcetera for breakfast. In this case, we opted for With the Grain. After a breakfast sandwich and latte (which could have been the last latte I ever had), I walked over to Bits, Bikes, and Boards. I’ve been dreaming about a new bike for some time now, and I thought I’d check out what the new line of bikes might offer.

As always, the staff were great. They gave me a run down of what was available, and chatted with me about what I wanted out of the bike. Distance, comfort, speed. It was as simple as that. But also, since I don’t drive, I wanted something higher-end because any new bike would be akin to my new car. I wanted to make sure that whatever I bought would last me a long time.

My current bike, a Devinci Chameleon mountain bike, has and continues to serve me well. But given my desire to bike longer and longer distances, I definitely needed to upgrade to a road bike. Of course, this would represent a rather significant purchase, so I wanted to think about it some more. I opted to not buy anything right then and there, as I wanted to go home to check my budget and also consider other options. I walked home, excited about the potential, but also cautious in case my bank book wouldn’t support the purchase.

As I was walking, I tweeted the following:

Given that I’m writing about this, and despite a very obvious typo (decoded should have read decided), it’s probably clear that I actually didn’t wait for a post-rapture sale. Not even close. Truth be told, once I got home from my walk I cleaned up, wandered around a bit, dealt with some chores, and then jumped on my mountain bike to head back to the store. Technically I also had to drop my mountain bike off for a tune up. But this mission would also include a purchase. I was determined.

My shiny new bike

And so dear reader, after perusing the stock and chatting with the staff (who are exceptionally helpful and personable), I made a decision. I chose to purchase another Devinci; specifically, the Devinci Silverstone SL-4. My new bike is so shiny and pretty and fast and awesome. I love the way it feels. I love how light it is. And I love how fast I can go. Without much of an effort, I was biking a kilometer in 2.5 minutes. Crazy! On my mountain bike, I have to put in a far greater effort to maintain a pace of 3 min per kilometer. Awesome! And now, every time I look at my shiny new bike I want to get out on the road and fly. And that bodes well for someone who wants to bike longer treks (i.e., greater than 60km).

Anyway, the purchase of this new shiny road bike also allows me to check off item #62 on my Not-So-Bucket-List!  W00t!

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Beth says:

    Jealous!

    As you know, I’m also thinking of buying a bike. I won’t be buying anything nearly as extravagant as yours – I’m not planning super long distances and I have a car, so it’s not going to be my main mode of transportation. Plus, I’m going to need to get a bike rack for my car (to take it to more desirable biking locations than lousy ole’ Surrey), so I’ll need to put some of my budget towards that.

    1. dangillis says:

      Just make sure whatever you buy is rapture proof. Or the opposite of rapture proof. I’m not really sure which is better.

  2. Beth says:

    I’ll be sure to add that to my list of criteria for bike purchasing!

    1. dangillis says:

      Definitely something you have to ask about when you are purchasing. It isn’t usually something that the sellers divulge voluntarily.

Leave a Reply

