If This Is Posted, I Probably Didn’t Die

Enjoying a Jelly Belly sucker prior to the race.

Today was the big day. And by big, I mean epic. Today was the Ottawa Marathon – my first ever marathon. And it was AWESOME! I had so much fun, even despite the aches and pains that came with running 42.2km (that’s 26.2 miles to my non-metric readers).

Since I’m a little bit tired at the moment (and by a little, I mean a lot) I will leave you with the results and some photos. I’ll provide some commentary and overall impression of the race tomorrow.

The results:

  • 10km = 53:17, or 5:20 per km,
  • 21.1km =  1:52:27, or 5:20 per km,
  • 30km = 2:44:15, or 5:33 per km,
  • 42.2km = 4:08:49, or 5:57 per km.

Needless to say, I was on pace up until about 34km when my IT bands decided they had enough. Oh well. I’ll just have to train a bit harder for September (because of course I’m doing another marathon).



7 Comments Add yours

  1. Carolyn says:

    When I saw your 30K split on FB after I finished & retrieved my phone, I assumed you had made it in a good 10 minutes before me. I wish I’d hung out at the finish! That last 10K must have been painful. Awesome job!

    1. dangillis says:

      It was painful. My IT bands (both sides) started acting up around the half marathon mark but I was fine until about 32 or 34k. Then they were screaming so much I thought my knee caps were about to burst off. I had to stop and stretch several times. Sadly, if not for that, my pace was fine. When I ran, I maintained the same pace. I just had to keep stopping for several minutes at a time to stretch them out as best I could. Yesterday and today were interesting, as I’ve been hobbling about because walking up or down any sort of incline/stair is an exercise in screaming-knees and screaming-hips. Massage has helped. And I managed to walk at least 10k today, so I think that has helped. Oh well, my next marathon I should be able to hit 3:50 I think – because I wasn’t tired at all, and never hit a mental wall. My breathing, pacing, and breath felt great, save for the IT bands. Stupid IT bands. Foiling my time.

      1. Carolyn says:

        I love that you loved it despite the agony. No wall?! I want a super-detailed account when you get back to Guelph.

  2. Beth says:

    You rock, Dr. Dan! Rock long time and much repeatedly! What marathon are you going to do in September?

    1. dangillis says:

      I think the Toronto Waterfront Marathon. However, the surgery to fix my stomach is scheduled for early August, so it will depend on how quickly I heal from that. I might go easy and just do a half or a 10. Save marathon #2 for a later date. Who knows. I’d like to attempt another one this year so that I can break the 4hr time 🙂

Leave a Reply

